RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

large enough for xk A1200?

Reply

Old 08-02-2017, 09:28 AM
  #1  
JimJay
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default large enough for xk A1200?

I have been flying the micro gliders, radian and flyzone and would like to go to a medium sized glider like the XK 1200 or dynam hawk I fly mainly in a park behind my house. It is a rectangle pretty much. It measures about 552 ft by about 1200 feet width. There are no trees in the park but there are along the sides. Do you think this area would be big enough for a glider with a 53 inch wing span?
JimJay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2017, 01:43 PM
  #2  
ibuild
Senior Member
 
ibuild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

That would be plenty of space to fly my 2,5m Arthobby Evolution. With gliders it often gets easier to fly if it gets bigger even at relatively small places because of the light wing loading they thrive at slow speed.
ibuild is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2017, 08:29 AM
  #3  
JimJay
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks so much. I suppose most people would consider it a silly or very novice question. 64 views and 1 reply makes me think this . I am a novice.
JimJay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 06:58 PM
  #4  
ibuild
Senior Member
 
ibuild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If you think you stink! Haha (joke), don't look too much at the views and replies my friend. You are the next generation, I don't take that lightly at all.
Basically if you have learned to fly that space with a small glider, it will be a piece of cake for you to fly a bigger one, thats how it is.
ibuild is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service