Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Just destroyed my first RC airplane

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Just destroyed my first RC airplane

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2019, 12:08 AM
Charles Vane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just destroyed my first RC airplane

Hey everyone, I'm new to RC airplanes but not RC; my wife and I have 5 trucks/buggies, 3 boats and a quad. Last night I finished building a Horizon Hobby Radian XL sailplane and attempted to launch it in a grassy field, destroying it in seconds. I plan on buying another and am hoping that you guys can tell me what I did wrong.

Before leaving the house, I tested all of the controls several times, making sure that both sticks were doing what they were supposed to be doing. I walked out to a field, held the plane in my right hand at its' center of gravity with my FlySky transmitter in my left hand. I was on level ground and there was no wind. I set the elevator at roughly 50% climb (about halfway up) and the throttle at 100%. I gently threw the plane as level as possible and reached for the transmitter as I let go of the plane. I never had time to do anything else. The plane climbed for a few feet, then nose-dived directly into the ground. The plane was obliterated although I saved my 3s LiPo, the receiver, the motor and the servos.

I replayed it in my head and I'm thinking that perhaps I had too much vertical climb and stalled the sailplane. Just wondering if you guys agreed or had any other ideas or advice. Thanks for your time
Old 04-06-2019, 04:22 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 350 Likes on 280 Posts

Throw it level with level elevator. you stalled
Old 04-06-2019, 04:48 AM
Propworn
My Feedback: (3)

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts