Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

New to sailing, need advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2004, 04:55 AM
gmebey

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to sailing, need advice

I want to get into thermal chasing but have little knowledge of sailplanes. Can anyone tell me a good sailplane in an ARF or RTF form that can high-start and hand launch.

FYI and laugh; Awhile back I was flying my GWS Slow-Stick and found that it would thermal. I was using a 270mAh pack, which is good for 4-5 minutes of flight time. But some how I was able to push it to about 15 minutes........I got the bug of thermal chasing and now I want MORE.

I have years of flying RC electrics and nitro fixed wing birds under my belt and some heli time, so all-in-all I’m not a newbie to flying but am a little lost when it comes to gliders.

Here are some questions that I’m in search of answers for:
1) What is the difference between a sailplane and a glider?
2) What is a good all around plane to start out with? (I want to thermal)
3) What servos and receiver should a person use to keep weight down?
4) What types of aerobatics can a glider do? (I love snap rolls and split “Sâ€)
Old 01-09-2004, 11:29 AM
Landi
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: New to sailing, need advice

Hi

[/quote]

If u search the forum there is a lot of info about this subject

To answer a few of tyour questions.

1 - Both are the same it is just two words expressing the same thing.

2 - If u want to thermal and to start with the aspire is a good plane it does not cost much and it thermals very well. If u want to go in to Scale a KA6 or a ASK 18 are good gliders to strat with to.