Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Help with C G

Old 05-18-2004, 01:13 AM
Zandona

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with C G

Heys guys,
I just purchased this used glider as my second plane and I'm doing some "resurrection" work on it and since this is my second plane I'm not a cg expert yet so I was wondering if anyone could help me out to at least estimate were the cg of the airplane is. I fly my Spirit at the slope and because of its wing composition and manufacturer specifications, the cg is not hard to find (right by the main spar); however the wing on this glider is solid (I beleive the right term is sheeted) and I'm not sure where the cg could be. Right now the location of the cg (with battery and everything in of course) is a little past the middle of the wing towards the nose of the plane but then again I could be wrong.
I know that the location of the cg is determined a lot of times by the pilot's preference but since I'm still rated as a novice I could definetely use some help.
Thanks a lot.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay73585.gif
Views:	13
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	133544  
Old 05-18-2004, 12:05 PM
Landi
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Help with C G

Hi

Try 1/3 of the wing cord from the leading edge. it should get u very close.

Saludos Landi
Old 05-18-2004, 03:43 PM
probligo

With a swept leading edge, I would be very careful not to get any further forward than Landi's suggestion.

How does it fly at the "somewhere just forward of 50%"? I bet it is a bit "twitchy" and easy to stall. I would think that moving the cg forward by at most 2cm would help. Then test and trim and test...hand launching over grass - the freeflight methods - will tell you if something is drastically wrong at minimum risk.