Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

SOME QUESTIONS

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2005, 05:03 PM
psydeviant

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SOME QUESTIONS

Hello all id just like to say im kind of new to the world of
R.C aircraft and since the summer of 2004 have logged only about 30-35hrs
of flying zaggi THL and EPP model wings"unpowered of course"on my local slope
(westburys white horse).i was stunned one afternoon when me and a mate went to have
walk around cley hill near warminster,upon reaching the top we bumped into a couple of
blokes with transmitters and noticed they were in combat and we stood and chatted,inspected
the wings and left them to it, from that moment i was hooked and when i got home looked
through my sussex model centre catalouge,located a wing and bought one, i used to race nitro
touring cars and had some spare servos and recievers lying about.
the wing was finished in an eve or two and the following weekend went to the slope,
suprised not to see anyone there i threw out on my first flight "and my wings first flight",
after the quick panic of it all and a few moments of ohh my god i kind of had it racing
around flying inverted, loops, spins and safe landings within 30 foot from my position,
i was chuffed to bits and my confidence grew each time i launched and a good day was spent
on the slope,
next time at the slope there were many chaps there,wings and gliders of all shapes were there,
i was nervous as the guys defenatly looked like they new what they were doing, i sat and
watched them for a while listning in on there stories and chatter and was hesitent to launch,
then i thought to myself to get on with it and threw out the wing into what was fantastic lift
she went up and was flying smooth trying to keep distance from all the other craft and keep in