Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Radio range

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2002, 09:13 PM
Wes Huff

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radio range

I'm new to this glider thing. I have just range tested the radio in a new 2 meter glider. It is a basic 4 channel Futaba transmitter and an 8 channel GWS receiver. I can only get 40 paces with the antenna down and 120 paces with it up before the servos start chattering. This does not seem like enough range for a 2 meter glider.
How much range should you have for a 2 meter glider?
Does anyone have any experience with these GWS receivers?
Would leaving the antenna inside the fiberglass fuselage make any difference (completely uncoiled of course)?
Thanks in advance.
Wes
Old 09-15-2002, 01:53 AM
BalsaBob
My Feedback: (24)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Range for 2M Glider

As far as range that is needed ....... you will find that you will probably (eventually) fly your 2M glider as far (and probably higher) than most of your regular glow engine airplanes. As far as your range check, some 'park flyer' receivers have a range of only 500 feet. Thats fine for some park flyers, but not nearly enough for your 2M glider. Bob
Old 09-15-2002, 02:03 AM
sf4JC

Default No, but I may be wrong.....

I'm glad that you asked that question though. I'd really like to know the answer myself.

I've been out of the hobby for to long and I'm just getting back in. Something tells me back then I took the antenna off the radio to do the range test. Is this still done? My radio is an old AM channel radio that I haven't really tested out yet.

What is the proper procedure for range testing radio equipment?

I may need a "refresher" course in R/C before I get back in the air.

sf4JC
Old 09-15-2002, 02:08 AM
sf4JC

Default Radio range

Thanks for that reply, BalsaBob!