Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

A couple questions about the GP Spectra

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

A couple questions about the GP Spectra

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2005, 03:48 PM
chris92merchant

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A couple questions about the GP Spectra

I have ordered a GP Spectra ARF and it should be here soon. I am going to put an AXI 2826/10 in it using a 3s2p lipoly setup.

What is the diameter of the spinner I need to buy? (Since I don’t have the factory one here to measure, and want to get it ordered.)

What other motors have you guys tried with the spectra?
What would you go with now that you know?
I am thinking no one wants to keep the factory motor and prop setup?

I have a lot of experience flying pattern and sport with nitro and have only been into electric for about 5 months. But this is my first electric sailplane. I want to do some thermal chasing but want to be able to have a decent climb out.

Thanks in advance.

Chris

Old 04-20-2005, 12:59 AM
Balsa Steel
My Feedback: (3)

Default RE: A couple questions about the GP Spectra

quote: "I am thinking no one wants to keep the factory motor and prop setup? "

Mines got a stock setup and I'm still happy with it. It's adequate for me and at 7 bucks a motor, I can go through a ton of them for what a brushless setup costs. Remember, you don't HAVE to go vertical to catch a thermal. (but it IS cool!)
Old 04-23-2005, 02:04 PM
paulcarnes

The Magnetic Mayhem is a good replacement for the stock motor. You can use the same prop or move up a little. Be sure your speed control can handle the juice. If you get something like the GP C-50 (be sure to install the schottky) you can use it on other set-ups.

Paul
Old 05-19-2005, 11:52 PM
BrentJ