Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Any thermal tips for a newbie?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Any thermal tips for a newbie?

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2005, 12:23 PM
Wazmo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any thermal tips for a newbie?

I'm an experienced R/C power pilot but fairly new to gliders. Any tips on how to recognize thermal lift? I know the glider rolls away from lift when you pass near a thermal, so either turn 270 or a reverse 180 to get back into the thermal. How else do you "see" lift?
Old 09-14-2005, 09:57 PM
jim2
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Any thermal tips for a newbie?

There is a excellent DVD - Secrets of Thermal Soaring by Radio/Carbon Art - if you want to learn almost every thing about thermals.
But in reply to your question, loof for things like - Hawks soaring,more birds in the air than usual.anything floating up like dust or small particles of leaves or grass and bugs are usually noisier when there is thermal activity.
One thing you can build verry cheap are thermal poles. Get 2 eight foot sections of PVC 1/2 inch pipe and a 3 foot section of rebar iron rod (any decent hardware store will have both), cut the rebar in half and take a old video tape and attach two 6 or 7 foot piececs at one end of the PVC. Hammer about eight inches of the rebar in the ground and slide the pipes other end over it--do the same with the other about 80 feet away. Stand up wind of the two post about 75 feet. Watch the tape streamers, they will show you air movement.