Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

glider question

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2005, 11:21 PM
sunnyc123abc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default glider question

I saw a glider the other day where the guy held it by its wing and threw it in the air. Im new to gliders, so i was wondering if that glider has a special name, and how much the cost..thanxs
Old 09-26-2005, 11:28 PM
Wazmo

Default RE: glider question

Discus Launch Glider. It's a variation of a Hand Launch Glider. Cost varies by technology and sophistication.

[link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXKAG3&P=0]Fling DLG[/link]
Old 09-26-2005, 11:28 PM
bckyrdbshr
My Feedback: (35)

DLG = Discus Launch Glider... you can purchase these at any place that sells gliders... One place that has some very good planes is [link=http://www.arthobby.com]ArtHobby[/link] you cant beat the price for what you you get. I've built the Hyper DLG and am fixing to start on the Hybrid. I think I might have a pic in my gallery of the hyper I built, If not there is a pic on the art hobby site.
Old 09-27-2005, 12:12 AM
sunnyc123abc

cool, thats the one. are they easy to fly since they don't have a motor to pull them up?
Old 09-27-2005, 12:25 AM
bckyrdbshr
My Feedback: (35)

They are as easy to fly as any other sailplane... You just have to practice your DL throw. You can get the aileron versions and poly versions which ever you like. You can also launch them with a an up start. If you look on the ArtHobby site it shows and tells you how to make a home made up start an I believe it even has a video of a hyper being DL'ed
Old 09-27-2005, 03:04 AM
Spacey