Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

First Glider--Which One?--More Questions 3/26

Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

First Glider--Which One?--More Questions 3/26

Old 03-12-2006, 04:14 PM
Rcpilot
My Feedback: (78)

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default First Glider--Which One?--More Questions 3/26

I'm an experienced pilot. Been flying glow and gas for 8yrs. Competed in IMAC, and pylon.

Couple guys at the local field are very experienced glider pilots, and they have a nice winch setup. They got me interested in a glider. The oldest guy, at 71yrs young, told me to get a 100" or bigger glider with minumum 900sq in of wing. He's been competing in glider contests for 50yrs. Flew nothing BUT gliders for 13yrs in the 80's and late 70's.

I'm a competent builder, and I'd prefer to scratch my first glider. Not interested in an ARF. I've got a shop full of wood, tools, covering, and servos. My goal is to build it without spending any money. I should have everything I need in the shop already.

I've been looking at plans on the RCM site and have looked at the Olympic II, Snoopy, Viking, BOT, Keetah, Runaway, and the Paradox. All of these sialplanes are 100" or more, and they have 900+ sq.in.

Any suggestions? Can I build a full house glider for my first one? Too complicated? I've got the radio to do it, and I know how to use it. JR8103.

Thanks
Old 03-12-2006, 07:45 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts
Default RE: First Glider--Which One?