Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

A few non-FAQ

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2006, 09:54 AM
Doftya

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A few non-FAQ

Hello everyone! I spent some time searching the forum, only to get a couple of partial answers. I was wondering if you could help me by offering some wise counsel.

I'm a complete newbie, with a very strong interest in hand launch RC gliders. I'll give you a quick summary of what I'm planning, then I'll get to the questions. I've ordered a simple 4ch radio set that will do mixing. I'm going to build from coroplast, so that the startup costs are minimal while I'm learning. That way if I make a mistake and crash, rebuilding will be cheap and easy. I'm planning on building a Beetle (plans from www.rcsail.com), or maybe a Mugi (with the controls dumbed down so I don't make any uncontrollable movements). Just for reference, I live in the GTA (for those that don't know, near Toronto, ON) so local advice would be great if available.

Now to the questions:

1. I've found various answers to this question, but in regards to hand launch gliders, can a just go to a local empty park and fly around or are there liability issues that are prohibitive?

2. What about slope soaring? The local RC clubs don't have slope sites, and there are a couple of places where sloping would be possible. Can a go flying there?

3. What about MAAC membership, I've seen a lot of discussion on both sides, if park flying a glider is a viable option, what advantages are there for MAAC membership?

4. If club and MAAC memberships are strongly encouraged for legal and liability reasons, what and the implications of flying out somewhere on my own and in secret to simply enjoy the hobby? Is there liability insurance available for HLG's?