Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

T or V tail

Old 06-20-2006, 07:28 PM
flaphoto

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default T or V tail

narrowing my choice on a 3M electric glider. What are the major differences between a T or a V tail glider? I want to use a JR10X helicopter radio which has a great deal of mixing capabilities that will most likely cover any needs, but I am totally unfamiliar with how to handle the setup of a V tail. (I am waiting on a call back from a local club to pick their brains and get some real world advice).
I have narrowed my choices down a bit after reading this forum (I am a newbie to gliders) I am interested in the Stork E (V tail), XL3200 (T Tail) or a Baracuda (T Tail).
Can't wait to get started, after reading some of the reasons you guys love the gliders. Comparisons to fly fishing kept me daydreaming about my first glider all day.
Old 06-20-2006, 09:09 PM
soarrich
My Feedback: (98)

Default RE: T or V tail

IMHO T tail any day over a V tail! The only disadvantages of a T tail are they tend to weigh a little more, usually not a problem on a electric sailplane, and the break in contest type dork landings, again usually not a problem with a electric sailplane.

In real sailplanes which do you see the most.........T tails, V tails are very rare.

Rich
Old 06-21-2006, 05:11 PM
flaphoto

What is a 'Dork landing'? (sorry, new to gliders and glider terminology).