Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Sharing the Buzz

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2006, 08:25 AM
snowboyd

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sharing the Buzz

How bout a thread for people to share the Buzz they're getting.

Here's my story. A self taught pilot who bought a 4 ch Electric Piper Cub so that I get a 4ch Electric Glider so I could learn to slope.

Well heres the Buzz, been going off the beaten track to find slopes. After finding many deadends, I finally managed to find a jungle track to take me around a village to a hill about 500 m from the coast.

Climbing onto the top - dripping sweat; I am surprised by the view of the grass slope out to the coast and a stronger breeze than what I had expected. The wind was what I guessed to be perfect - let's try my first non-motor assisted launch...

Threw the glider out and felt tranquility as I realised no motor would be needed, I did in fact have the perfect wind!! (I now know 12-17 km/hr is fine) Then the buzz of exploring how far away I could go and still find lift. What a peaceful and inspiring feeling piloting a slope model is.

Then the REAL BUZZ - a local hawk coming over and investigating my model and flying together. After several minutes a mock attack by the hawk... I power up get above him or her...power off and dive down near the hawk...Then just a few more minutes of flying around together before the hawk loses interest.

So thats my buzz. And now I'm thinking that the next glider I get better be able to perform as well as that hawk....

Snowboyd
Old 08-05-2006, 08:33 AM
MustangAce
My Feedback: (3)

Default RE: Sharing the Buzz

Nice! Thanks for sharing.
Old 08-05-2006, 11:43 AM
slopemeno
My Feedback: (2)

One of the most satisfying experiences in sloping is dicovering that NEW slope.
Old 09-10-2006, 03:49 AM
snowboyd

Hey guys I was hoping people would share,