Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Looking for suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2006, 11:27 AM
GregG7

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for suggestions

I have been flying glow and gas for 6 years, and would like to try my hand at a glider for this winter's building project. I started looking and there are sooooooo many choices out there.
I am looking for something in the 2-meter range, that is powered by an electric motor. I like the idea of a brushless motor, and li-po batteries.
I don't care if the glider is an ARF, or a kit, but cost will be a determining factor.
I am looking for something that thermals well and fly's slow. I don't care to do aerobatics. I just want to be able to sit in my lawn chair on a relaxing lazy Sunday afternoon and spend an hour or so in the sky catching thermals.

Suggestions???

Thanks,
Greg
Old 09-11-2006, 02:09 PM
soarrich
My Feedback: (98)

Default RE: Looking for suggestions

ORIGINAL: GregG7

I am looking for something in the 2-meter range, that is powered by an electric motor. I like the idea of a brushless motor, and li-po batteries.
I don't care if the glider is an ARF, or a kit, but cost will be a determining factor.
I am looking for something that thermals well and fly's slow. I don't care to do aerobatics. I just want to be able to sit in my lawn chair on a relaxing lazy Sunday afternoon and spend an hour or so in the sky catching thermals.

Suggestions???

Thanks,
Greg
How much you want to spend? Electric sailplanes are the best way to get into soaring. Sitting in a chair will limit you soaring, you've got to look around and be in tune with nature all the time.
Old 09-11-2006, 03:09 PM
kwmtrubrit