Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Gentle Lady Hinge Recommendations

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Gentle Lady Hinge Recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2006, 11:44 AM
big al

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gentle Lady Hinge Recommendations

Hi All,
Can anyone give me a recommendation as to what type of hinge to use on this model? I am new to gliders and was planning on using CA type hinges. I am also lloking for a supplier for CA hinges. I appreciate all input. Thank you - Al
Old 09-15-2006, 01:19 PM
Red B.

Default RE: Gentle Lady Hinge Recommendations

Presuming that your Gentle Lady is covered using iron-on covering the simplest (and for gliders probably best) method is to use the covering itself for hinges. Check out this link:

[link=http://www.airfieldmodels.com/information_source/how_to_articles_for_model_builders/construction/film_hinges/index.htm]Airfield Models[/link]

/Red B.
Old 09-15-2006, 02:31 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

I agree. If you're covering with any of the iron on plastics that have the glue as part of the back surface then just use hinges made from the covering material. A hint though... use a longer than normal sanding block to true up the hinge lines on the surfaces. The hinge line needs to be as truly straight as possible to avoid needless binding or "oil canning".

Using the covering material also has the advantage of sealing the hinge line. Avoiding air leakage lowers drag and on a glider that's a good thing.