Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Easy Star

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2006, 01:38 PM
PhilGoings

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Easy Star

Does anyone have any experience with the Multiplex Easy Star trainer / glider? I am looking for a club trainer and all I have read says it will do the job.
Thank you,
Phil
Old 11-21-2006, 02:56 PM
nikolai

Default RE: Easy Star

Hi Phil, I am self taught on flying RC, and learned on the Easy Star. All I can say it is everything they say it is. It's glide is very good. The most surprising thing is how tuff the Elpor foam is. I have completely broke it in-two about 6 times, a little epoxy glue and nylon filament tape and its back flying. In fact yesterday I was out flying in 15 knots of wind doing loops too close to the ground and piled it in. This time I broke it completely in-two about 3" in front of the elv., a little epoxy and 5 minutes later its ready to fly. Once you get used to it give it a little more throw in the controls than the manual says and is fairly responsive. Start out in calm winds with little control and you'll do fine. When airborne slow down the throttle to give you more time to respond, as it flys faster than I thought it would.

My favorite thing now is to lay it down on the frozen lake and take off from the ground. Once airborne in the wind I like having it hover, going forward as slow as possible and have almost gotten it to hover down to the lake like a helicopter. With a little practice it will also fly upside down. Great sailplane for the money! Happy Holidays.
Old 11-21-2006, 06:04 PM
PhilGoings

Nikolai,
Thanks for the quick reply. You can't always trust the hype the adds push to sell a plane. It is good to get some first hand information from someone who has experence with the plane in question.
Thanks again,
Phil
Old 11-21-2006, 09:26 PM
sawdust