Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Glider/Sailplane Flying in North Carolina

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Glider/Sailplane Flying in North Carolina

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2008, 07:57 PM
CaptainRandy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Glider/Sailplane Flying in North Carolina

Hi Guys,

I am in Alleghany County, North Carolina and I fly at a hay field on the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is a very large field suitable for all types off electric planes, and even bungee type sailplanes.

I have been flying there for two years, and have never seen another flyer there. It is not private property, and is open to use by anyone. It is property owned by Uncle Sam and leased to farmers to grow hay. I have only seen it cut once last year, and only half the filed was cut and rolled. There is plenty of space to fly, with no traffic, or radio glitches. The Station's Inn, a motorcycle resort is right down the road for refreshments and relief.

The reason I am posting this, is I am looking for others that enjoy the peacefulness of electric flight, and would like to meet up there at some time for some flying.

The field is located at approx MM 248

Please feel free to PM me for more info. I also know of a place for slope soaring on the Blue Ridge.

Capt. Randy
Old 06-12-2008, 09:29 PM
evan-RCU

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Glider/Sailplane Flying in North Carolina

Bluff Mountain and the Lump?
Old 06-13-2008, 05:48 AM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hey, guys, forget about keeping the info private. Skip the pm's and just post what you got right here in public where everyone can share the info.