Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Thermal Sailor or Vista EP

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2008, 09:36 PM
BillBabe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thermal Sailor or Vista EP

I am considering the Tower Hobbies Vista EP ARF and the World Models Thermal Sailor. The Vista can be bought complete per Towers recomendations. The Thermal sailor is a bit larger and should be easier for me to see. Unfortunately, the ESC and battery required are not stated.

Does anyone have a recommendation ( source) for the ESC and battery for the Sailor.

Please do not recommend changing the motor in either plane to use a particular battery pack. That can come after I have some experience with the plane.

Clarence
Old 07-28-2008, 11:22 PM
JockC

Default RE: Thermal Sailor or Vista EP

Bill: You need a 25 amp speed controller with brake suitable for a brushed motor, and an 8 cell 1800mAh battery (this is from the Thermal Sailor instruction book.) I assume the battery specified is Nicad or NiMH. I am using a 2s (2 cell) 1500 mAh lipo, which is more than enough, and a lot lighter. If you want more time between recharging, go to a 2S 1800 mAh battery. The speed controller I happened to buy is a GWS ICS-600, rated 30 amps continuous, 45 amps for short bursts. I recall the combination was drawing 23 amps when I metered it.

I have since changed to a brushless motor and speed controller, same battery.