Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Hobbycity ASW 28 glider

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2008, 02:36 AM
scalejet
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hobbycity ASW 28 glider

Hello guy i am totally new to this scale glider ,my first glider was the greatplane spirit that i modified to elec power.But now i am into the scale glider bug LOL.anyway i am looking to get the hobbyking ASW 28 ,i am wondering has anyone convert this to elec spec yet?I can't seem to get any info in this site here ,so wonder if anyone has convert this to an electric can share this intresting info ,another one is the DC 1000 102"ARF ,wonder what is the different between this two scale glider ?which is the good one to get ?greatly appericiate if someone can help .thx
Old 12-12-2008, 10:35 AM
Ranfred Radius
My Feedback: (8)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hobbycity ASW 28 glider

Here's a lengthy thread over on rcgroups about the ASW28(Aero Fever) http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=694339
This model as well as the DG1000 are easy to convert to electric. Just whack off the nose and stick a little Axi outrunner in them! The Quality is a little hit and miss with these models. But hey, for under $200.00 what do ya expect!?
Old 12-12-2008, 12:56 PM
Flyfalcons

I electrified a 157" semi-scale slope glider as well. All you need to do is figure out how big of a motor you need, and cut the nose off to fit it properly. Keep in mind what spinner size you want to run as well. After hacking off the nose I shaped a 1/4" plywood firewall and glued it in from the inside with epoxy. A little sanding to get the spinner to line up nicely with the fuselage and a couple cooling holes up front for the motor/batt/ESC and you have an electric glider. I think my conversion turned out pretty well:
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version