Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Gentle Lady Power Setup

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2009, 02:53 PM
[email protected]

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gentle Lady Power Setup

I have been building and flying control line planes for several years. Ihave also flown some RC powered sport planes. Iam a beginner in sail planes and am building a Gentle Lady kit and want to power it with a Cox Golden Bee on a SIG pod over the wing to get it up. Is this a good set up or do I need to consider other power methods or techniques. I can use all the help you give give me.

Thank You

Mike

Old 06-21-2009, 03:13 PM
OzMo
My Feedback: (3)

Default RE: Gentle Lady Power Setup

That is my favorite method as the pod does not alter the plane for other types of flying. I have the same set up but with a TD and the red tank. It will get you into thermal country.
Old 06-21-2009, 08:20 PM
soarrich
My Feedback: (98)

ORIGINAL: [email protected]

Is this a good set up or do I need to consider other power methods or techniques. I can use all the help you give give me.
Mike
I would use a electric motor mounted in the nose of the GL. I have one with an old cobalt 400 with a gearbox that works fine, though now I'd buy a brushless out-runner motor if I where to re-motor it. The reasons I wouldn't go 1/2a are:
1. Slime
2. The electric can be restarted in flight.
3. Slime
4. A more titty installation.
5. Slime.
6. The extra weight of the batteries will not hurt a sailplane with one of these older floater airfoils.
7. Slime.
8. Using a electric motor allows you to experiment, is that sink, or is it just that you're being sucked right into the bottom of a thermal? It can look the same.
9. Slime.