Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

High Start Size

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2003, 01:14 PM
TheAMAZINGNorad

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High Start Size

Hey guys. I've been flying my paragon for about 2 months now and have been using other peoples high starts. Well, I just got the spirit kit and its about 80% done right now. I decided it is time to get my own high start. The spirit is a 2m, but the paragon is real close to 3m. I also want to build a Bird of Time as my next glider. Which High Start should i get? A standard or a Large? I am looking @ the ones from NE Sailplane. The BoT and Paragon are more at the 3m end, but then there is my spirit. I don't want to underpower the BoT or Paragon! Then again, I don't wann break the spirit Thanks for any advice.
Old 06-26-2003, 02:59 PM
TomM

Default High Start Size

HolySchmoly!!!!- You got the same planes I do. Paragon, two Spirits and my BOT should be delivered tomorrow.
I've been using the Dynaflite Heavy Duty Hi Start. Box says "up to 120 inch wings".
I think it works fine for both the Paragon and spirits. But then again I'm the only glider flyer at the field, so I have no other comparisons.

Tom
Old 06-26-2003, 11:15 PM
TheAMAZINGNorad

Default High Start Size

Well, I do not know how that compares to the ones from NE Sail. How do you like that model HS? Do the wings seem to bend alot when you launch the spirit? Im worried that the L from NE Sail might have a bit too much oomph. I did some reinforcing on the wings anyways, so they should be strong enough but i dont want the wings shearing off in flight
Old 06-26-2003, 11:50 PM
TomM

Default High Start Size

I checked out the NESail L, couldn't find the rubber diameter.
But anyway, get it and just don't stretch as hard for the Spirit's first flight. Looks like a great histart.