Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Questions about winches

Old 05-27-2010, 12:17 AM
offroadn_redneck

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions about winches

I am new to gliders and I have inherited some gliders and gear. The one that ive just recently put back together and have it flight ready is this one:

Now i dont have a high lift, but i was given a winch. I have heard that winching can be difficult and may snap wings. Can anyone give me some advise and insight into this? The glider i posted is (i think) a 3 meter (judging by looking) and it is not a solid wing. There are two wings that slide onto a metal rod and a rubber band attached between the wings holds them together. I have it set up as a 3 servo (elevator, rudder, and speed brake). Will it be more prone to folding than a solid wing?

Thanks
Old 05-27-2010, 05:10 AM
scaflock

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Questions about winches

Your best bet would be to hook up with your local sailplane club there in San Antonio.  Have one of the members take a look at your plane and make sure it's all balanced correctly and ready to fly.  Launching from a winch is no harder than a high-start but there are a few differences.  Since it's a built up wing, you can't go full peddle on the winch.  You'll have to tap it on and off so you don't snap the wings.  Again...  Someone at your local club can show you how.

You make no mention of if you've got any R/C flight time.  If not, then be SURE you contact your local club for help.  It would be sad to hear that you crashed such a nice looking sailplane on your first attempt to fly it.  Maybe some of the members here that live in your area would be willing to help.  If no one here speaks up, you can try posting over at RCGroups.com in the sailplane section.  I know there's some fellow Texans there.

Jeff
Old 05-27-2010, 08:52 AM