RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-gliders-sailplanes-slope-soaring-112/)
-   -   Electric Gentle Lady (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-gliders-sailplanes-slope-soaring-112/11632672-electric-gentle-lady.html)

Baysidejim 09-17-2016 01:45 PM

Electric Gentle Lady

Hi All. I'm new to this so I hope my questions aren't too lame. I've learned to fly my Radian and I am addicted! I like to build planes as well and have a Gentle Lady almost complete. I want to set it up with an electric motor and am looking for advise. Can I do something as simple as buy a Radian and transfer the guts (motor, esc., etc.) into the G.L.? Is there a better option? Thanks!

Hydro Junkie 09-17-2016 04:07 PM

I have done a little research on the Electra, Sig's version of what you are asking about and found it had the glide ratio of a brick if set up with the old school electronics it came with.
BMatthews put a post in my thread that may shed some light on what you're wanting to do. Due to this, I've cut and pasted the relevant information from his post below:
The overall weight for an Electra or Gentle Lady is best kept to 30 oz give or take a couple. It truly is a model where "lighter is righter" due to the choice of airfoil section. It's definetly not what you'd call a windy weather penetration model by any stretch.

At 32 oz or two lbs it means that you can achieve a "nice" but not rocket like climb with as little as 50 to 60 watts per lb. Or 100 to 120 watts total. On a 3S Lipo pack at 11.1 volts that's a mere 120/11.1= 11 amps. At this power setting the model would climb at or just a bit faster than it's normal gliding speed with an angle of climb of around 40 to 50 degrees.