Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Buying advise

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2011, 08:57 AM
thegovna

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying advise

I am new to all of this and looking for my first electric helicopter. My questions are: should I buy new or used, clone or name brand. I am talking to a guy who wants to sell me a "new" T-Rex 500 clone for 550.00. It comes with aSpektrumDXi 6trans. and rec, a new battery but no charger. I can get a list of all of the components and list them later today. I bought a simulator and have someone who flies to help me learn the basics. Your thoughts and comments would be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-23-2011, 09:05 AM
Raycamaro

Default RE: Buying advise

I would buy a coax like the MCX2 from Horizon and practice with it. You can use the DX6i for it if you buy a BNF model. I buy most of my Micros with RTF (I own 2 DX8s, 2 DX6is and several DX5 and other radios) so that everything is in one box for transporting to flying area. Some people go from coax to fixed pitch then move to collective pitch like the one you are looking to buy. My two cents.

The picture is a couple of years old. I've bought several helis since then including a quad copter among others.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge95219.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	110.3 KB
ID:	1690232  
Old 11-23-2011, 02:00 PM
Rafael23cc
My Feedback: (6)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

If you have somebody that will guide you thru the learning process, and also have a simulator, I'd say go ahead and learn with that 500 and save any extra money to buy spare parts and that charger that you are going to need.