Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Helicopter simulator realism

Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Helicopter simulator realism

Old 12-04-2011, 09:09 PM
Farmer Ted
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Helicopter simulator realism

Hey everyone.

I'm what I'd probably consider an 'expert' airplane pilot with 5+ years of experience flying all kinds of RC airplanes in all kinds of conditions. I probably fly 3-4 times a week so I'm out there quite a bit.

I've got some heli experience with a blade mcx 2 (which doesn't really count) and some real CP experience with a T-Rex 450 clone and a smaller CP heli.

My CP heli experience wasn't the best...I was able to hover but forward flight led to disasters so I kind of quit the heli thing for about a year (other than my mcx 2).

I've recently acquired a Phoenix flight sim and have been messing around flying the New Blade 450 3D in the intermediate mode. I've been flying it quite a bit and can hover, do figure 8s, fast forward flight, loops, brief inverted hovering at high altitude and the occasional roll. I always fly with a touch of wind and turbulence on to simulate (as best as possible) real outdoor flying, even on a 'calm' day.

This has peaked my interest in possibly giving the heli thing another go-round as the Blade 450 3D BNF looks pretty enticing for what I want to do, and I'm a big fan of E-Flite/ Horizon.