Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

beginners heli radio

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2012, 11:56 AM
vrodlaw
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default beginners heli radio

I am new to rc heli's and i need a good radio. Someone suggested a DX7 but i dont know if its a good beginners radio. I am looking at some of the bnf blade models from indoor to outdoor and would like a radio to control them all. Any idea's?
Old 01-25-2012, 12:14 PM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 351 Likes on 281 Posts
Default RE: beginners heli radio

Why do you feel the DX7 isn't a good beginner radio? It will control all of the BNF models, and grow with you if/when you decide to move up to larger helis.
Old 01-25-2012, 12:28 PM
vrodlaw

Well i wasnt for sure plus its kinda scary looking compared to the little rtf remotes i have. Thanks for the help i will start looking for one to purchase.
Old 01-25-2012, 09:45 PM
guitpic

Hello,

My first radio is a Spektrum DX8...been in the hobby less than 4 months. If you decide to look at a DX7, might as well go for the DX8. That was recommended to me as a newbie and I'm very glad I bought that radio.

Lots of folks look at the DX6i which is a good radio as well. If I was going to buy the DX6i today, I would buy it used or with a kit if I could....lots of used DX6i's out there.

The reason I shelled out for a DX8 is that I found out that having a good radio would be probably my #1 necessary investment.

Good luck.

Old 01-26-2012, 08:17 AM
Rafael23cc
My Feedback: (6)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts