Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Newbie question...

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2006, 10:00 AM
CntrySngr72

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie question...

I am a newbie to RC heli's. I've had cars and a hovercraft, but nothing in the air. I would like to get started with electrics and hopefully someday move into the big guys...so, I did a little research and these are the two I am considering for my first purchase:

[link=http://www.hobby4less.com/prod_heli_df4.htm]Dragonfly 4[/link] for about $80 (not including shipping) - 4 ch

or

[link=http://www.hobby4less.com/prod_heli_df22e.htm]Dragonfly 22E[/link] for about $120 (again, no shipping) - 6 ch

I'm also considering this one, but not at the top of the list unless you really feel like its the best choice...

[link=http://www.hobby4less.com/prod_heli_hb5.htm]Honey Bee CP2[/link] $190 - 6 ch

Each comes with a trainer set, and I plan on using them for sure!! I'm also planning on spending time in front of a simulator. I am a gamer, used to two joysticks, but I imaging that won't really be too much of a help...although it is with the hovercraft.

Anyway, I've been lurking and watching your comments to folks, and I wanted to get your opinions. Should I start with a 4 ch, or go to the 6 for $40 more? I am looking for opinions, not necessarily expert advice. Seriously though, I would like to hear from those of you who fly heli's and see what you think. I plan on also taking things REALLY slow...I have a friend who crashed his Heli the other day on his 3rd attempt because he was getting to anxious. Needless to say the tree won. He hadn't even mastered hovering yet!! I'm not going to be like that - I am patient...

Anyway...I appreciate the feedback. I look forward to hearing what you have to say!

Old 06-20-2006, 10:32 AM
21cwsuper6

Default RE: Newbie question...