Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Brushless Motor and ESC installation help please

Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Brushless Motor and ESC installation help please

Old 05-18-2007, 05:02 PM
Claude626

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brushless Motor and ESC installation help please

Hello again!

Oh man, I'm a bit excited lol. My parts just came in the mail. I just got the Pulso KA450H brushless motor and the Dynam 30A ESC.(thanks to HeliSmith suggestion)

I got it out of the box and is about to instal... but then I realize they don't come with any instructions! I'm totally new at this, so can you guys help me hook it up correctly?

The motor comes with:
4x large screws
4x small screws
3x set of golden pin thing (has one end insert into another)
3x black shrink tube
1x metal rod (i'm guessing it's the spare motor shaft)
1x motor with 3 wires: Red, Yellow, and Black

The ESC comes with:
1x ESC with 3 wires going out on one side (label to motor and they are all colored red), 2 wires on the other side labeled battery (red and black), and the dongle to go to transmitter.
3x set of golden pin thing (has one end insert into another)
3x red shrink tube

The pinion sets comes with 3 sizes, 11, 13, and 15. What are the differences when I use a larger pinion than a smaller one?

Now... being a total noob that I am... I have NO IDEA the right configuration to set it up. Here are a few confusions i can think of.

- The motor has 3 wires, the ESC has 3 wires; the motor's wires are color coded, but the ESC's wires all look the same! How do I know what to hook up to where?
- How do I use the set of golden pin thing? I realize they are for connecting these pre-stripped ends of the wires.