Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Making your Own Linkages

Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Making your Own Linkages

Old 10-10-2007, 06:36 PM
jbloom

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Making your Own Linkages

I'm a relative newbie to helicopters. I have an older model 1000, 1001 X-Cell from Miniature Aircraft. I've picked up the newest version of the main rotor shaft that is 10mm longer than the old one. I'm having difficulty getting the throws I want and the 0 midstick setting. I have lengthened the 4 linkages on the swash plate, but in doing so, the I have less than 1/3 of the threads in the ball link connector.

So, it's been suggested that I make my own linkages. I talked to the folks at Miniature Aircraft and he suggested getting 2.5mm rods and a 2.5mm die and drilling out the ball link connector with a #43 drill bit. But suggested that I post a message such as this one to see if those are the correct instructions or if someone has a better idea.

Have any of you made your own linkages? If so, how?

Thanks!
John
Old 10-10-2007, 08:38 PM
Druss

Default RE: Making your Own Linkages

Have you tried looking at linkages from other heli's? Maybe you can find one from a thunder tiger, align, hirobo... etc. that would fit?
Old 10-11-2007, 09:57 AM
redvtr1000

I have used some align ball links on my mini titan. Why couldnt he just buy matching balls and links, then get threaded pushrod in lengths and cut it down accordingly to deal with the increased length?
Old 10-11-2007, 10:24 AM
VinceHerman

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hi John,
Having a relatively new heli pilot working on an older model heli is rarely a win-win situation.

Often, beginners try to save money by getting an inexpensive, used, older heli. This is rarely a money saving move.