Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

thinking about starting w/heli's

Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

thinking about starting w/heli's

Old 11-28-2007, 10:07 PM
gjeffers

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default thinking about starting w/heli's

Hi guys, ive been flying 40-120 size planes for 5 years now and am thinking about getting a Heli.

i have a few questions below.

1.will this be a good starter chopper... http://www.nitroplanes.com/rag26ccrarec.html

2.will i have a fighting chance if i practice on my afpd till my fingers are bloody? (there is no chance to get an instructor at all, i learned to fly planes by myself, the reason being ....well let me put it this way,.. the closest wal-mart is 160 miles away[X(])

3. cant think of nothing else

thanks guys

Old 11-28-2007, 10:59 PM
Druss

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: thinking about starting w/heli's

the g2 and the esky belt cp are very similar (and similarly priced heli's), either would be a good choice for a RTF 400 size electric. As for whether they are a good starter or not, there are a lot of different opinions on that. I think you can do it as long as you put in a lot of sim time and go through radd's school of flight. others will suggest that you start with a co-axial, they are fun little heli's and inherently very stable (I can put my tx on the counter and walk away and it will hover on it's own). if you have a big field where you fly your planes then I don't think you need to go the co-axial route (they are pretty much useless outside without a lot of upgrades). still others will suggest that larger = more stable (true) and that you should learn on a .60 or .90 nitro, this is a $2000 invesment though and you don't even know whether you like them yet.