Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Questions on Boom Town Products for CX2

Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Questions on Boom Town Products for CX2

Old 03-19-2009, 09:21 PM
Mack66

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions on Boom Town Products for CX2

I am a newbie but getting more seasoned each time I fly. I finally broke one of my landing skids yesterday while trying to fly outside. Wind came up and tried to launch my baby over the house. Smashed into the top of the house I killed the thottle and watched it free fall into the garden. Damage report: stapped skid strut and separated swash plate. No biggee.

So looking for skids I went to Boom Town looking for improvements to help me fly outside plus skid replacement. I'm considering buying the following products:

Ultra Flex Landing Skids
[8D] Model 4 Boom Kit
Flybar Combo
[:@] Extreme Motor Heat Sinks (come in pairs)

The landing skids are self explanatory. Idea there is to get something that is more robust.

The boom kit is about reducing sensitivity to rotor wash in the house, and wind vaning outside.

The flybar combo is intended to reduce blade clash because I intend on moving the swash links to the second hole for more aggressive cyclic response.

The motor heat sinks are sorta bling but hoping that they'll help stabilize yaw drift over time. I'm not worried about wearing out motors because I am overheating them. I'm just buy more motors. Real question here is since they are split one for each motor do I have to remove one motor to install them or can they be installed without motor removal?

I seem to keep hearing good reviews about Boom Town products. Appreciate any opinions in this forum on these choices and competitors' offers.

Mack
Old 03-19-2009, 10:19 PM
cornerblade