Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

New Pilot with Blade 400

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

New Pilot with Blade 400

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2010, 04:08 AM
TakeshiSkunk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Pilot with Blade 400

Well I got a Blade 400 for Christmas, I'd been wanting to get into helicopters for a while now. I have a few years of experience with fixed wing, mostly flying a Typhoon 2 3D with a DX6i. Didn't have any trouble learning to fly planes at all, and the challenge of flying helicopters has really attracted me to them. Not that there flying a plane isn't fun, but I tend to enjoy learning difficult things.

I've spent a fair amount of time with helicopters on RealFlight G4/4.5, and for the last couple months I've been spending a lot of time with a model of the Blade 400 I found (all the comments I read on it were very positive as to its accuracy). I leaned towards the B400 as a first kit after talking with some of the guys at the LHS and letting them watch me fly a bit on their RealFlight setup in the store. I'm not exactly swimming in cash so the price was right, and it seemed like a model that would be able to grow with me as I become more familiar with it.

I have noticed that it is noticeably more difficult to fly than a lot of the bigger helicopters in the sim, as I expected. I can do a pretty good job of keeping it in front of me and holding a relatively stable hover, still have some trouble with some things in forward flight but generally if I stay focused and don't get ahead of myself I can keep it in one piece. It just registered with me how squirrely the thing can be after messing with one of the .30 size helicopters for a bit yesterday, which was comparatively effortless to keep in a tight hover.