Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Newbie saying hello

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2010, 08:27 PM
Hexrays

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie saying hello

Hi all. I just ordered my first real RC copter from HH. I purchased the Esky Lama V4 and am anxious to get delivery.
I tried flying a 2 channel piece of junk some years ago and got totally turned off to the hobby. Recently I purchased a Syma Chinook S022 at the mall from a guy in a kiosk. I was impressed how well it flew even though it is of poor quality. I was happy that I could actually fly the thing compared to the two channel I tried in the past. So maybe the Lama will be a good start to something much better as I gain experience
. I'm sure I'll be doing much reading in his forum.

:-)
Old 01-21-2010, 10:19 PM
GenkiDesu

Default RE: Newbie saying hello

Im new to the hobby too...but did a lot of homework before getting for first RC Heli...
I got a Walkera 4g6, I personally think its a little too advanced for a starts heli.

Its 6 channels, which means it can go up, down, left, right, back, andfroward... Its also a collective pitch heli which means the rotors move to increase air flow instead of a fixedpitchwhich speeds up the motor to make more air flow and they are usually 4(5) channel heli's. So a 2 channel heli can only go up and down... you really cant control the direction they go in..... I would have to say they are a 'toy' compared to real rc heli's....

Since I got my heli, I hovered for about 1 to 2 seconds until I have to land it... it had a strong drift to the left which I am trying to figure out and fix....
As I read further, it takes A LOT of patience and time to master them.

Welcome to the hobby....
Old 01-21-2010, 11:03 PM
TakeshiSkunk