RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

Blade Chroma "Fly Aways"

Reply

Old 03-08-2016, 02:55 PM
  #1  
Auburn AL
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Blade Chroma "Fly Aways"

Additional "Chroma flyaway" for consideration; as with essentially all others, began with momentary GPS loss triggering total loss of control. Although recovered telemetry was reported by Yuneek to be normal, flight video demonstrates; drone vectors unresponsively .8 miles before descending into a 75 foot tree.

Of interest:

- Pilot error would have generated an erratic flight path

- There are two points we briefly regained control, retracing towards the origin for several seconds

- Numerous online reports include preflight accelerometer and compass calibration.

- "Troy" at Horizon stated of all returned units, 100% have flown normally, demonstrating pilot error was the cause of all "Chroma flyaway"

- Troy stated the decision had been made prior the our discussion to replace the Chroma at no charge as a one time courtesy.

- We initially submitted the case with "Pete", we perceived very logical, opened the ticket and covered all shipping

- We included with the return a detailed description of the flight and video.


Summary:
Based on our actual flight video, the balance of online comments, and Horizons two customer service representatives, we perceive Horizon is cognizant that Chroma has a design/manufacturing flaw triggered with momentary loss of GPS. GPS loss, per se, is not the cause but initiates flight control system failure(s) that result in complete loss of flight control.

Private equity concerns facilitating Horizon may be better served by resolving the underlying issue than continuing to project an increasing implausible universal "pilot error" explanation.
Auburn AL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2016, 05:39 AM
  #2  
lawnhawk
Senior Member
 
lawnhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McHenry, IL
Posts: 215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have been researching this like crazy, and it seems the ones having all these Chroma issues are those using the ST-10 transmitter. I have the DX4 transmitter and am wondering if this has happened with it. Sorry if this exists somewhere, but I couldn't find it, thanks.
lawnhawk is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service