Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Throttle curve/pitch curves on my nitro heli

Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

Throttle curve/pitch curves on my nitro heli

Old 05-10-2019, 05:40 PM
TheBerkshireFlyers

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Throttle curve/pitch curves on my nitro heli

Hello, I recently got a old vintage X-cell 60 that I dont think has ever flown. I am a beginner for helis. Got it ready to fly but now I need to figure out the throttle curves along with pitch curves, etc. I am using a spektrum DX6E with a Spektrum 6210 rx. The heli has a O.S MAX 61 glow engine. I have been flying model nitro rc planes for years and am very skilled at tuning engines. BTW I'm not using governor for my first few flights. So without gov., what is a good throttle curve set up to have? Pitch curve? Other than those 2 any other things i should do ?I have never funked around with any of this with my model planes I just flew it lol. So please be detailed. Thanks so much!
Old 05-12-2019, 07:22 PM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 172 Likes on 148 Posts

For the pitch settings you should have zero at idle, +5 at half Stick and +9 at full Stick. Throttle should be set up much like your airplane but with 5/8 throttle at half Stick. Note that these are setting for learning how to hover. Once you venture into forward flight you will need some negitive pitch at low Stick. Setting up a constant head speed using curves can be a challenge, I always set the pitch curve to what I wanted and adjusted the throttle curve to suit.
Old 05-21-2019, 04:31 PM
Rockin Heli

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts