Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

Performance and Weather

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2006, 10:52 AM
Rattlecat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Performance and Weather

Hello,
I am new to RC heli's and am currently desperately clutching at how to prolong the ecstasy of flying these heli's. Since I have not seen a similar thread anywhere, I decided to throw this one out. My experience in light planes, especially the Cessna 150 has taught me an important trick about weather that modelers never take into account. It is a condition called DENSITY ALTITUDE that can have a very noticeable effect on the performance of any aircraft.
The density altitude is a combination of temperature, barometric pressure, and humidity that can combine and cause the performance to fall off as much as if your model were were 2000 or more feet up higher than your ground level . As a matter of fact, I just read that at sea level and 90 degrees f, the density altitude will be about 2000 feet.
Well, did you get caught off guard today when your bird was just so mushy you thought there was a problem with it ? Notice it just didn't snap at the controls, and no explanation ? Look at this, on a 90 degree day and humid low pressure system is in, a Cessna 150 with two passengers and a tankfull of gas will probably not get off a 2000 foot runway with a 50 foot obstacle at the end. 50 or 60 degrees out, 1 passenger, 1/2 tank and that thing leaps off like a whole different plane !
So what does this have to do with heli's ? My guess is that hovers will be very springy and the bird will be very slow to change direction at your command. So, Learn DENSITY ALTITUDE , how to calculate it, and be prepared to compensate. My example is that you will need more pitch on a very high altitude day.