Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

1st Heli

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2008, 08:42 PM
wally3185
My Feedback: (26)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st Heli

Thinking about getting into elec heli's, do not know where to start? I've been buliding and flying planes for 15 years. There are so many small elec heli's on the market, witch one's are good-bad or somewhere in between?
Old 07-26-2008, 10:14 PM
AZheli

Default RE: 1st Heli

Depending on your budget, skill level, dedication/desire, and need for a challenge, there are numerous options. Do you want to spend several hours in front of your PC practicing with a cartoon helicopter in order to develop sufficient zen to tackle a fixed pitch or collective pitch, OR do you want to dump a little heli outta the box, do some preliminary inspection and adjustments while waiting for the batteries to charge, then just go fly?

The E-Sky Honeybee Fixed Pitch is a classic & durable 4 channel heli that will present a challenge to master. Once you can successfully fly one, you will be able to fly almost anything.

Bigger is better, or so they say. 500 & 600 series helis are said to be easier to control. Nevertheless, the inevitable crash is more costly in time and spares to repair.

Flying for the Fixed Pitch - Challenged (like me) directed me towards the myriads of coaxial (contra-rotating blades) helis. The most popular is the Lama version 3 or 4. The cheaper v3 is actually more maneouverable than the newer & cooler-looking v4. Both are popular and proven performers, and have tons of part upgrades available, and With very little fly-time, you'll be able to fully control it. If it's too ordinary or lame looking, you can upgrade in a number of directions. You can go broke on the coaxials alone - you'll just have more to show for it