RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

Auto stabilization? really work?

Reply
Old 04-14-2010, 03:17 PM
  #1
John_jrp3
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ottumwa, IA
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Auto stabilization? really work?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_toKfLlD8nk

http://www.enjoyhobbies.biz/gyro/kds...on-for-rc-heli



I was looking at getting something like this to take video and also help me practice hovering. any body use this?



http://www.heli-stabilizer.com/en/

http://www.webberaerialimaging.com/
John_jrp3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 04:53 PM
  #2
j61944
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?

i've noticed the FMA copilot II gets good reviews and the company has great customer service. The new Skookum 720 also had a flight rlevel mode that keeps it level.
j61944 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 05:07 PM
  #3
John_jrp3
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ottumwa, IA
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?

http://www.fmadirect.com/new_applications/copilot2.html


i guess i dont see why everybody doesnt use something like this to start out with?

John_jrp3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 05:09 PM
  #4
ilikethatsite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?

I know you asked about the flymentor and I don't have experience with that, but the reviews seem to be mixed.

I personally use the FMA CO-pilot II and have since it was released about a year ago and I love it. Even better I have not crashed since it has been installed. It has saved me from soiling many pairs of underwear!!!! There is no guarantee of not crashing but it is sure nice to have that second chance!!!!
ilikethatsite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 05:11 PM
  #5
John_jrp3
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ottumwa, IA
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?

how difficult is it to install. i have a dx6i and a century swift.

http://www.fmadirect.com/products.htm?cat=75&nid=6


which of these do i need?

John_jrp3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 05:18 PM
  #6
ilikethatsite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?

I got it installed and was flying within an hour. I have a dx6i and placed it on my 450. Programming it took about 5 minutes and that was only cause I kept reading the instructions over and over because I figured it couldn't be this easy.

I bought the combo 2, I think shipping was about $15
ilikethatsite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 06:49 PM
  #7
John_jrp3
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ottumwa, IA
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?

Very nice, looks like th only thing that the combo 3 has is the usb to pc interface for 10 bucks more. any reason anyone needs this?
John_jrp3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 07:16 PM
  #8
ilikethatsite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?

I have not needed it, with the irnet computer you can do all the adjustments.
ilikethatsite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 05:18 AM
  #9
John_jrp3
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ottumwa, IA
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?

I went ahead and ordered the combo 2.  my main reason is so i can learn to hover in all directions i can hover great tail in but dont want to crash.  with a little more sim practice and this i hope to learn faster. thanks for the quick replies guys.

post ur videos of using this also
John_jrp3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 08:48 AM
  #10
ilikethatsite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?

Here is a video from onboard the same heli that has the co-pilot. You can see about 2 min in it is pretty high and pretty stable even with a slight breeze. Just wish the camera was working better on it.

http://www.youtube.com/user/cricketw.../0/Y1TK7z72KtI
ilikethatsite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 01:44 AM
  #11
fabiomel
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SAO PAULOSAO PAULO, BRAZIL
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?

Hi,
The KDS Flymentor works with the Belt CP V2 eletronics?

Thank You!
fabiomel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 05:10 AM
  #12
John_jrp3
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ottumwa, IA
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: fabiomel

Hi,
The KDS Flymentor works with the Belt CP V2 eletronics?

Thank You!

im trying to find in the post where this was asked?


i did get mine on a while back had plenty of putting around the yard as i will call it. went out to the airport where we got a rc club. own runway and stuff. seems to fly good but in hard ff its always trying to correct it self making the tail bounce up and down. and i tried some hard stall turns and ended up losing it as i could not control the cyclic for some reason. i removed it since then and im gonna try the same manuever again to see why i failed. thanks

John_jrp3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 05:11 AM
  #13
John_jrp3
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ottumwa, IA
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Auto stabilization? really work?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: fabiomel

Hi,
The KDS Flymentor works with the Belt CP V2 eletronics?

Thank You!

im trying to find in the post where this was asked?


i did get mine on a while back had plenty of putting around the yard as i will call it. went out to the airport where we got a rc club. own runway and stuff. seems to fly good but in hard ff its always trying to correct it self making the tail bounce up and down. and i tried some hard stall turns and ended up losing it as i could not control the cyclic for some reason. i removed it since then and im gonna try the same manuever again to see why i failed. thanks

John_jrp3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:06 AM.