Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 71 of 142 FirstFirst ... 2161697071727381121 ... LastLast
Results 1,751 to 1,775 of 3531

  1. #1751

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    300
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Henry that sounds like a great deal.But I already have engines.I bought a Falcon 120 from nitro,they are on sale also for $150 and I hear they made changes to it for the better,..going to make it a park flyer EDF style....I like your jet but will wait for V3 and pricing.I was wondering if the V3 or V4 was also going to be scale up in size like Tom Cook husler.Your WS63" I think his is 83" I think.I for one would like the bigger size.Just asking that's all.

  2. #1752

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Apopka, FL
    Posts
    276
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Hey Guys,

    I have the earlier version of the Tornado, I have a Jet central Rabbit and need a motor mount to fit. Has anyone else mounted a Rabbit on the V1 Tornado? If so, did you have a mount made for it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  3. #1753

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Apopka, FL
    Posts
    276
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Anyone know where I can get a motor mount for the Tornado V1 that will work with a JC Rabbit, Modellbau is all out. The V1 mount will only fit the Jetcat P-60 nothing larger. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  4. #1754
    dmscpu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dothan, AL
    Posts
    72
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet


    ORIGINAL: Jetfan20

    Anyone know where I can get a motor mount for the Tornado V1 that will work with a JC Rabbit, Modellbau is all out. The V1 mount will only fit the Jetcat P-60 nothing larger. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Isn't there some machine shops or aluminum manufacturing in Orlando that could supply you with "U" channel aluminum?? Or just get one bent on the style of the original.....
    Mike in AL

  5. #1755
    Boomerang1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,561
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Anyone know where I can get a motor mount for the Tornado V1 that will work with a JC Rabbit, Modellbau is all out. The V1 mount will only fit the Jetcat P-60 nothing larger. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    I made an engine mount for a Wren 44 from 2 pieces of angle screwed together.

    You can adjust the thrust line by loosening the front screw, tilting the top half of the mount up or down, then drilling a new hole for the rear screw at the angle you want. - John.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vt58057.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	67.0 KB 
ID:	1692847   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ni23592.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	58.8 KB 
ID:	1692848  

  6. #1756

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    ks, LA
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    I just ordered a tornado fellows. I wanted to wait for the next version to come out but decided to go ahead and get one. They said they only have a few kits left of this version.

    I want to see the new color schemes for V3!

  7. #1757
    Xairflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Co. Donegal, IRELAND
    Posts
    2,707
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Two pieces of angle works well, I used the same method on my bobcat
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Qo39129.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	98.2 KB 
ID:	1692896  
    www.letterkennymodelflyingclub.com
    www.jmaireland.com

  8. #1758

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Apopka, FL
    Posts
    276
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Thanks guys for the great ideas!

  9. #1759
    dmscpu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dothan, AL
    Posts
    72
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet


    ORIGINAL: Xairflyer

    Two pieces of angle works well, I used the same method on my bobcat
    Nice clean looking install!
    Mike in AL

  10. #1760

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Park Ridge, NJ
    Posts
    145
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Another successful maiden of my Tornado. Had 2 flights. CG seems right on the money. Only issue is that I just got a FOD screen for my K-80 and it doesn't look like it's going to fit without major surgery to the fuse, unless I move the turbine back on the mount and then I'm going to have to rebalance again. Any input from those using K'80s?

  11. #1761
    dmscpu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dothan, AL
    Posts
    72
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet


    ORIGINAL: DrYankum

    Another successful maiden of my Tornado. Had 2 flights. CG seems right on the money. Only issue is that I just got a FOD screen for my K-80 and it doesn't look like it's going to fit without major surgery to the fuse, unless I move the turbine back on the mount and then I'm going to have to rebalance again. Any input from those using K'80s?
    You are correct, with the screen on the fuse will have to be carved on a lot. Henry says "naaa you don't need a FOD screen, we don't run them." The engine is fairly protected and safe from FOD where it mounts, but on a grass runway I will smile on every takeoff since I have a FOD screen installed. I had to move my K-80F to the rearmost point on the engine mount to try to get the CG close, ended up with the batteries installed in front of the fuel tank.

    The pictures are of the original mounting location and then where I moved the turbine back to. I hope they will give you an idea of the area cut away.... HUGE too huge

    Mike
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ec87630.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	49.3 KB 
ID:	1692936   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Yt60554.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	40.1 KB 
ID:	1692937   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rw58317.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	47.3 KB 
ID:	1692938  
    Mike in AL

  12. #1762
    Xairflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Co. Donegal, IRELAND
    Posts
    2,707
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Every turbine needs a FOD screen Period (thought I throw in the period bit for the Americans) if you dont fit one you WILL damage your compressor, maybe not today or the next day but it will happen. Even if it is inside the fuselage it can still suck in bits of cable ties, that washer you forgot about that fell under the radio tray!!

    Put your hand in front of the turbine at full power and see how much suction there is (disclaimer if your fingers get sucked in, it is not my fault if you had no fod screen) these things are like Hoover's, if your workshop, car, pit area and runway is spotlessly clean you may get away with it for a while, but probably not.
    www.letterkennymodelflyingclub.com
    www.jmaireland.com

  13. #1763
    KC36330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    5,935
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    I've always used a FOD screen but I did not on my tornado because of the butcher job required to get it on. I did get a new style one for it but couldn't get it to work acceptably. My runways are spotless but I'd still prefer the screen be installed its just not practical on this install

  14. #1764

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Plymouth, MI
    Posts
    2,481
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    ORIGINAL: Jetfan20
    Anyone know where I can get a motor mount for the Tornado V1 that will work with a JC Rabbit, Modellbau is all out. The V1 mount will only fit the Jetcat P-60 nothing larger. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    It's pretty easy to make a mount out of aluminum sheet metal. Just cut it out using tin snips, file the rough edges and bend it. I just clamped it in a vise between two pieces of hardwood. I aligned the edge of the wood along where i wanted the bend, folded it over by hand, then sharpened up the bend with a plastic mallet.

    Here's a template for the one that is on my Falcon 120. The Rabbit is about the same size, but you may have to modify it slightly to accommodate the Rabbit mount.

    Joe
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ig11306.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	56.1 KB 
ID:	1693015   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ie98319.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	72.4 KB 
ID:	1693016  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  15. #1765
    Xairflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Co. Donegal, IRELAND
    Posts
    2,707
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet


    ORIGINAL: KC36330

    I've always used a FOD screen but I did not on my tornado because of the butcher job required to get it on. I did get a new style one for it but couldn't get it to work acceptably. My runways are spotless but I'd still prefer the screen be installed its just not practical on this install
    Yes I can understand, but what I tend to ask myself with things like this is, what if: you are unfortunate to pick up a small stone which damages the compressor which will lead to turbine wheel hitting NGV breaking blades etc. Your repair bill is $500+ would you then refit it without a FOD screen?
    www.letterkennymodelflyingclub.com
    www.jmaireland.com

  16. #1766
    KC36330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    5,935
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet


    ORIGINAL: Xairflyer


    Yes I can understand, but what I tend to ask myself with things like this is, what if: you are unfortunate to pick up a small stone which damages the compressor which will lead to turbine wheel hitting NGV breaking blades etc. Your repair bill is $500+ would you then refit it without a FOD screen?

    Not saying it can't happen, but I'm fortunate enough to have the US Army's finest helicopter pilots come out and blow off the runways and pit area at my flying field 5 days a week just so i can fly off a spotless runway on the weekends!!

  17. #1767

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Park Ridge, NJ
    Posts
    145
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Is there a way to release the spring on the Spring-Air retracts, so I can store the plane with the struts folded? Can't seem to find any release points.

  18. #1768
    KC36330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    5,935
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    just add air.

  19. #1769

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Park Ridge, NJ
    Posts
    145
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet


    ORIGINAL: KC36330

    just add air.
    Cant. First off I've got quick disconnects. Secondly I travel down south for the winter and I need to store the wings with the gear folded for safer transport in the trailer.

  20. #1770
    KC36330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    5,935
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    use the robart quick disconnects with check valves.

  21. #1771

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Park Ridge, NJ
    Posts
    145
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet


    ORIGINAL: KC36330

    use the robart quick disconnects with check valves.
    AHA

  22. #1772
    BaldEagel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wychling, Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    9,583
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Just to add a bit of information, I worked at Gatwick Airport on two building projects, the insurance for my company constructing on the airfield side was to say the least astromincal to say the least, but the point to this is that if any aircraft ingested anything over 10mm we would be held liable, so scale that down to our size turbines and we are talking something about 1mm possibly, I think I will just make sure that I always use a FOD screen. I have never run a turbine yet without one, so do not know the consequences of not using one.

    Mike
    My Gast is Flabered.
    No matter what anyone say's 100% is the maximum you can get.
    If you see a deleted post, my Avatar say's it all.

  23. #1773

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mt. Vernon, IL
    Posts
    467
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Heres how I mounted my K-80. Plenty of room for the fod screen and didn't have to chop up the fuse.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lj23986.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	60.3 KB 
ID:	1693142   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Je11049.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	83.0 KB 
ID:	1693143  

  24. #1774
    dmscpu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dothan, AL
    Posts
    72
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet


    ORIGINAL: fw190pilot

    Heres how I mounted my K-80. Plenty of room for the fod screen and didn't have to chop up the fuse.
    Your FOD screen looks a lot smaller than the on KingTech currently supplies.
    Have you balanced and flown the aircraft?

    Mike
    Mike in AL

  25. #1775

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mt. Vernon, IL
    Posts
    467
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: The new Tornado sport jet

    Yes I have balanced and flown the plane. It came out nose heavy had to move the rx battery behind the wing tube.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.