RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

The new Tornado sport jet

Reply
Old 11-23-2011, 12:29 PM
  #1751
FMRR
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 364
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Henry that sounds like a great deal.But I already have engines.I bought a Falcon 120 from nitro,they are on sale also for $150 and I hear they made changes to it for the better,..going to make it a park flyer EDF style....I like your jet but will wait for V3 and pricing.I was wondering if the V3 or V4 was also going to be scale up in size like Tom Cook husler.Your WS63" I think his is 83" I think.I for one would like the bigger size.Just asking that's all.
FMRR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 07:49 PM
  #1752
Jetfan20
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Apopka, FL
Posts: 309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Hey Guys,

I have the earlier version of the Tornado, I have a Jet central Rabbit and need a motor mount to fit. Has anyone else mounted a Rabbit on the V1 Tornado? If so, did you have a mount made for it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Jetfan20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:12 PM
  #1753
Jetfan20
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Apopka, FL
Posts: 309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Anyone know where I can get a motor mount for the Tornado V1 that will work with a JC Rabbit, Modellbau is all out. The V1 mount will only fit the Jetcat P-60 nothing larger. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Jetfan20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:27 PM
  #1754
dmscpu
 
dmscpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dothan, AL
Posts: 74
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Jetfan20

Anyone know where I can get a motor mount for the Tornado V1 that will work with a JC Rabbit, Modellbau is all out. The V1 mount will only fit the Jetcat P-60 nothing larger. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Isn't there some machine shops or aluminum manufacturing in Orlando that could supply you with "U" channel aluminum?? Or just get one bent on the style of the original.....
dmscpu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 01:00 AM
  #1755
Boomerang1
 
Boomerang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,827
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Quote:
Anyone know where I can get a motor mount for the Tornado V1 that will work with a JC Rabbit, Modellbau is all out. The V1 mount will only fit the Jetcat P-60 nothing larger. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I made an engine mount for a Wren 44 from 2 pieces of angle screwed together.

You can adjust the thrust line by loosening the front screw, tilting the top half of the mount up or down, then drilling a new hole for the rear screw at the angle you want. - John.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt58057.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	1692847   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ni23592.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	58.8 KB
ID:	1692848  
Boomerang1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 02:45 AM
  #1756
4wheelin711
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: ks, LA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

I just ordered a tornado fellows. I wanted to wait for the next version to come out but decided to go ahead and get one. They said they only have a few kits left of this version.

I want to see the new color schemes for V3!
4wheelin711 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 04:48 AM
  #1757
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Two pieces of angle works well, I used the same method on my bobcat
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo39129.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	1692896  
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 05:42 AM
  #1758
Jetfan20
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Apopka, FL
Posts: 309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Thanks guys for the great ideas!
Jetfan20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 06:10 AM
  #1759
dmscpu
 
dmscpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dothan, AL
Posts: 74
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Xairflyer

Two pieces of angle works well, I used the same method on my bobcat
Nice clean looking install!
dmscpu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 07:35 AM
  #1760
DrYankum
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Park Ridge, NJ
Posts: 153
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Another successful maiden of my Tornado. Had 2 flights. CG seems right on the money. Only issue is that I just got a FOD screen for my K-80 and it doesn't look like it's going to fit without major surgery to the fuse, unless I move the turbine back on the mount and then I'm going to have to rebalance again. Any input from those using K'80s?
DrYankum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 07:59 AM
  #1761
dmscpu
 
dmscpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dothan, AL
Posts: 74
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DrYankum

Another successful maiden of my Tornado. Had 2 flights. CG seems right on the money. Only issue is that I just got a FOD screen for my K-80 and it doesn't look like it's going to fit without major surgery to the fuse, unless I move the turbine back on the mount and then I'm going to have to rebalance again. Any input from those using K'80s?
You are correct, with the screen on the fuse will have to be carved on a lot. Henry says "naaa you don't need a FOD screen, we don't run them." The engine is fairly protected and safe from FOD where it mounts, but on a grass runway I will smile on every takeoff since I have a FOD screen installed. I had to move my K-80F to the rearmost point on the engine mount to try to get the CG close, ended up with the batteries installed in front of the fuel tank.

The pictures are of the original mounting location and then where I moved the turbine back to. I hope they will give you an idea of the area cut away.... HUGE too huge

Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec87630.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	1692936   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt60554.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	1692937   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw58317.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	1692938  
dmscpu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 10:16 AM
  #1762
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Every turbine needs a FOD screen Period (thought I throw in the period bit for the Americans) if you dont fit one you WILL damage your compressor, maybe not today or the next day but it will happen. Even if it is inside the fuselage it can still suck in bits of cable ties, that washer you forgot about that fell under the radio tray!!

Put your hand in front of the turbine at full power and see how much suction there is (disclaimer if your fingers get sucked in, it is not my fault if you had no fod screen) these things are like Hoover's, if your workshop, car, pit area and runway is spotlessly clean you may get away with it for a while, but probably not.
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 10:40 AM
  #1763
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

I've always used a FOD screen but I did not on my tornado because of the butcher job required to get it on. I did get a new style one for it but couldn't get it to work acceptably. My runways are spotless but I'd still prefer the screen be installed its just not practical on this install
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 10:48 AM
  #1764
joeflyer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 2,633
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Jetfan20
Anyone know where I can get a motor mount for the Tornado V1 that will work with a JC Rabbit, Modellbau is all out. The V1 mount will only fit the Jetcat P-60 nothing larger. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
It's pretty easy to make a mount out of aluminum sheet metal. Just cut it out using tin snips, file the rough edges and bend it. I just clamped it in a vise between two pieces of hardwood. I aligned the edge of the wood along where i wanted the bend, folded it over by hand, then sharpened up the bend with a plastic mallet.

Here's a template for the one that is on my Falcon 120. The Rabbit is about the same size, but you may have to modify it slightly to accommodate the Rabbit mount.

Joe
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11306.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	1693015   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ie98319.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	72.4 KB
ID:	1693016  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Fd91419.pdf (918.5 KB, 24 views)
joeflyer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 11:07 AM
  #1765
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: KC36330

I've always used a FOD screen but I did not on my tornado because of the butcher job required to get it on. I did get a new style one for it but couldn't get it to work acceptably. My runways are spotless but I'd still prefer the screen be installed its just not practical on this install
Yes I can understand, but what I tend to ask myself with things like this is, what if: you are unfortunate to pick up a small stone which damages the compressor which will lead to turbine wheel hitting NGV breaking blades etc. Your repair bill is $500+ would you then refit it without a FOD screen?
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 11:22 AM
  #1766
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Xairflyer


Yes I can understand, but what I tend to ask myself with things like this is, what if: you are unfortunate to pick up a small stone which damages the compressor which will lead to turbine wheel hitting NGV breaking blades etc. Your repair bill is $500+ would you then refit it without a FOD screen?

Not saying it can't happen, but I'm fortunate enough to have the US Army's finest helicopter pilots come out and blow off the runways and pit area at my flying field 5 days a week just so i can fly off a spotless runway on the weekends!!
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 12:47 PM
  #1767
DrYankum
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Park Ridge, NJ
Posts: 153
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Is there a way to release the spring on the Spring-Air retracts, so I can store the plane with the struts folded? Can't seem to find any release points.
DrYankum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 01:02 PM
  #1768
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

just add air.
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 01:23 PM
  #1769
DrYankum
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Park Ridge, NJ
Posts: 153
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: KC36330

just add air.
Cant. First off I've got quick disconnects. Secondly I travel down south for the winter and I need to store the wings with the gear folded for safer transport in the trailer.
DrYankum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 01:27 PM
  #1770
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

use the robart quick disconnects with check valves.
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 01:44 PM
  #1771
DrYankum
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Park Ridge, NJ
Posts: 153
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: KC36330

use the robart quick disconnects with check valves.
AHA
DrYankum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 01:50 PM
  #1772
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Just to add a bit of information, I worked at Gatwick Airport on two building projects, the insurance for my company constructing on the airfield side was to say the least astromincal to say the least, but the point to this is that if any aircraft ingested anything over 10mm we would be held liable, so scale that down to our size turbines and we are talking something about 1mm possibly, I think I will just make sure that I always use a FOD screen. I have never run a turbine yet without one, so do not know the consequences of not using one.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 06:47 PM
  #1773
fw190pilot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mt. Vernon, IL
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Heres how I mounted my K-80. Plenty of room for the fod screen and didn't have to chop up the fuse.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj23986.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	1693142   Click image for larger version

Name:	Je11049.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	83.0 KB
ID:	1693143  
fw190pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 07:24 PM
  #1774
dmscpu
 
dmscpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dothan, AL
Posts: 74
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: fw190pilot

Heres how I mounted my K-80. Plenty of room for the fod screen and didn't have to chop up the fuse.
Your FOD screen looks a lot smaller than the on KingTech currently supplies.
Have you balanced and flown the aircraft?

Mike
dmscpu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:04 PM
  #1775
fw190pilot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mt. Vernon, IL
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: The new Tornado sport jet

Yes I have balanced and flown the plane. It came out nose heavy had to move the rx battery behind the wing tube.
fw190pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:56 PM.