Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 23 of 23

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    47
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Simple Smoke System set up

    Hi there,
    I apologise if this has been covered before but I have a ProtechPT80 Turbine and am looking for a very simple and cheap smoke system.
    I wondered if anyone has home built a smoke system and if any information was available?
    If anyone can help it would be very much appreciated
    Jezza

  2. #2
    Robrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Southport, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,718
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    Here you go: http://amtjets.com/download.php#smoke I have seen these systems work well.

    From my early homebuilt days till quite recently I used a speed controller/fuel pump combo which also worked well.

    Rob.
    UK distributor: Jets Munt Merlin 90, 140 & 160. Jet Central UK. FADEC ECU\'\'\'\'s UK

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    47
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    Excellent - Many Thanks

    What would be the best fuel to use in the smoke system tanks? - Is diesel ok?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore, SINGAPORE
    Posts
    71
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up


    ORIGINAL: Jezza15

    Excellent - Many Thanks

    What would be the best fuel to use in the smoke system tanks? - Is diesel ok?
    Paraffin. Less messy tha diesel.

    Regards
    Henry

  5. #5
    Robrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Southport, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,718
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    Best fluid to use is purpose made smoke fluid or 'white' oil designed for the food industry. Diesel works ok but tends to be messy and the smoke is more grey in colour.

    Rob.
    UK distributor: Jets Munt Merlin 90, 140 & 160. Jet Central UK. FADEC ECU\'\'\'\'s UK

  6. #6
    jonkoppisch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    2,520
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    I didn't know that the propane line acted like a pressure port. Does this only work with AMT turbines?
    "Washington in their infinite wisdom has lost their marbles"
    Pappy Boyington

  7. #7
    Gerald Rutten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tilburg, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    403
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    No, works for all other turbines as well.

    Best regards,
    Gerald
    My new homepage:
    http://members.tele2.nl/geraldensuzanne/indexgb.htm

  8. #8
    jonkoppisch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    2,520
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    That's a great trick! Save weight and simple!!!
    "Washington in their infinite wisdom has lost their marbles"
    Pappy Boyington

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ReutIsrael, ISRAEL
    Posts
    3,094
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    the pressure trick does work well, and i like the simplicity of having a servo drive a Festo ball valve.

    The only thing im wondering about is which servo is used in such a case, as the Festo ball valves are pretty hard to move by hand ? would probably require a pretty good torque standard size servo ?
    www.liorzahavi.com
    www.youtube.com/i3dm

  10. #10
    jonkoppisch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    2,520
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    Does it have to be a festo? How much air pressure is there? Will a retract/brake etc valve work instead? I'm sure that a solenoid would be fine as well but a little pricey for the app..
    "Washington in their infinite wisdom has lost their marbles"
    Pappy Boyington

  11. #11
    KC36330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    5,935
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    the pressure is quiet high and the only smoke tanks i found that would work with it were recycled PowerMax cans. a note of caution, the air exiting the propane side is VERY hot and if you use an excessive flow of fluid or you leave the valve open when the fluid is exhausted, you run a very good chance of melting the propane lines and festo fitting as well as the lines to your smoke system.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ReutIsrael, ISRAEL
    Posts
    3,094
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up


    ORIGINAL: jonkoppisch

    Does it have to be a festo? How much air pressure is there? Will a retract/brake etc valve work instead? I'm sure that a solenoid would be fine as well but a little pricey for the app..
    A solenoid is perfect, but pricey. just like you said.
    www.liorzahavi.com
    www.youtube.com/i3dm

  13. #13
    jonkoppisch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    2,520
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    Sounds almost like an earlier model Tams smoke system.. I used to run one on my roo!
    "Washington in their infinite wisdom has lost their marbles"
    Pappy Boyington

  14. #14
    jonkoppisch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    2,520
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    I wonder how they're regulating the air pressure in the diagrams? It looks like they're using plastic tanks???
    "Washington in their infinite wisdom has lost their marbles"
    Pappy Boyington

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ReutIsrael, ISRAEL
    Posts
    3,094
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    they dont regulate it. most plastic tanks are pretty good pressure wise. see all the folks running nitro YS engines with pressured tanks ?
    www.liorzahavi.com
    www.youtube.com/i3dm

  16. #16
    KC36330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    5,935
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up


    ORIGINAL: i3dm

    they dont regulate it. most plastic tanks are pretty good pressure wise. see all the folks running nitro YS engines with pressured tanks ?
    A YS has about 4 psi. A JetCat many times that.


    Sent from my iPhone

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ReutIsrael, ISRAEL
    Posts
    3,094
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    the YS motors i saw (never measured) all balooned up the tanks like mad ! so i really doubt its 4 PSI.
    www.liorzahavi.com
    www.youtube.com/i3dm

  18. #18
    KC36330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    5,935
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    My point exactly. At 4 psi a YS swells the heck out of a plastic tank and can burst a fiberglass one, the pressure off a turbines bypass air will explode them.



    Sent from my iPhone

  19. #19
    Gerald Rutten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tilburg, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    403
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    A powerful turbine can deliver about 2,2Bar overpressure ( 32 PSI ) which is quiet substantial, still a lot less than used on pneumatic retraction systems. However, no fiberglass tank is designed to hold any pressure so they cannot be used for this purpose. When using pressurized smoke systems only use plastic tanks, and test them first by pumping them to 35psi to make sure you don't have to clean you model's internals..... Also installing a check valve between turbine pressure port and smoke tank is a wise idea so no fluid may accidently be pumped into the turbine when flying inverted, closing smoke valve and downspooling the turbine so it has less pressure than stored in the smoke tank.

    Best regards,
    Gerald
    My new homepage:
    http://members.tele2.nl/geraldensuzanne/indexgb.htm

  20. #20
    ianober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    4,414
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    Just get a Sullivan Skywriter and be done. Its the easiest, safest and cheapest solution out there.

  21. #21
    Gerald Rutten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tilburg, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    403
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up


    ORIGINAL: ianober

    ..... and cheapest solution out there.
    Well........that's just where this thread startet, wasn't it? A valve for just a few bucks against this sullivan pump for allmost $100,- isn't very cheap, is it?
    But I agree, when you want a ready installation and aren't very handy I would go for the pump system as well. As a hobby purist I like to try everything thats sounds simple and easy to me but not everybody likes to (or should....) experiment.

    Best regards,
    Gerald
    My new homepage:
    http://members.tele2.nl/geraldensuzanne/indexgb.htm

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    PLAISANCE DU TOUCH, FRANCE
    Posts
    27
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    Hi Gerald, I do agree with you. This way to make smoke is the cheapest and works fine without adding much weight in the model. I did it in the past in 2 different models.
    Best regards,
    Marc Levy


  23. #23
    RemoteJets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Huizen, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    462
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simple Smoke System set up

    My first test with my gasstart Jetcat 120 and pressurized with the gas inlet:
    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PpIPjrtx_mQ[/youtube]

    Have to fine tune the set up more and then build it in the airframe somewere


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.