RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Simple Smoke System set up

Reply
Old 12-28-2010, 04:30 PM
  #1
Jezza15
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Simple Smoke System set up

Hi there,
I apologise if this has been covered before but I have a ProtechPT80 Turbine and am looking for a very simple and cheap smoke system.
I wondered if anyone has home built a smoke system and if any information was available?
If anyone can help it would be very much appreciated
Jezza
Jezza15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 11:57 PM
  #2
Robrow
 
Robrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southport, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,718
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

Here you go: http://amtjets.com/download.php#smoke I have seen these systems work well.

From my early homebuilt days till quite recently I used a speed controller/fuel pump combo which also worked well.

Rob.
Robrow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 02:47 PM
  #3
Jezza15
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

Excellent - Many Thanks

What would be the best fuel to use in the smoke system tanks? - Is diesel ok?
Jezza15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 11:30 PM
  #4
Henry Chua
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Jezza15

Excellent - Many Thanks

What would be the best fuel to use in the smoke system tanks? - Is diesel ok?
Paraffin. Less messy tha diesel.

Regards
Henry
Henry Chua is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 04:30 AM
  #5
Robrow
 
Robrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southport, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,718
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

Best fluid to use is purpose made smoke fluid or 'white' oil designed for the food industry. Diesel works ok but tends to be messy and the smoke is more grey in colour.

Rob.
Robrow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 05:11 AM
  #6
jonkoppisch
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,681
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

I didn't know that the propane line acted like a pressure port. Does this only work with AMT turbines?
jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 10:28 AM
  #7
Gerald Rutten
 
Gerald Rutten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tilburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 403
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

No, works for all other turbines as well.

Best regards,
Gerald
Gerald Rutten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 10:30 AM
  #8
jonkoppisch
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,681
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

That's a great trick! Save weight and simple!!!
jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 10:57 AM
  #9
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

the pressure trick does work well, and i like the simplicity of having a servo drive a Festo ball valve.

The only thing im wondering about is which servo is used in such a case, as the Festo ball valves are pretty hard to move by hand ? would probably require a pretty good torque standard size servo ?
i3dm is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 01:11 PM
  #10
jonkoppisch
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,681
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

Does it have to be a festo? How much air pressure is there? Will a retract/brake etc valve work instead? I'm sure that a solenoid would be fine as well but a little pricey for the app..
jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 01:29 PM
  #11
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

the pressure is quiet high and the only smoke tanks i found that would work with it were recycled PowerMax cans. a note of caution, the air exiting the propane side is VERY hot and if you use an excessive flow of fluid or you leave the valve open when the fluid is exhausted, you run a very good chance of melting the propane lines and festo fitting as well as the lines to your smoke system.
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 01:45 PM
  #12
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jonkoppisch

Does it have to be a festo? How much air pressure is there? Will a retract/brake etc valve work instead? I'm sure that a solenoid would be fine as well but a little pricey for the app..
A solenoid is perfect, but pricey. just like you said.
i3dm is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 03:37 PM
  #13
jonkoppisch
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,681
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

Sounds almost like an earlier model Tams smoke system.. I used to run one on my roo!
jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 12:39 PM
  #14
jonkoppisch
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,681
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

I wonder how they're regulating the air pressure in the diagrams? It looks like they're using plastic tanks???
jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:32 AM
  #15
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

they dont regulate it. most plastic tanks are pretty good pressure wise. see all the folks running nitro YS engines with pressured tanks ?
i3dm is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:41 AM
  #16
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up


Quote:
ORIGINAL: i3dm

they dont regulate it. most plastic tanks are pretty good pressure wise. see all the folks running nitro YS engines with pressured tanks ?
A YS has about 4 psi. A JetCat many times that.


Sent from my iPhone
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:46 AM
  #17
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

the YS motors i saw (never measured) all balooned up the tanks like mad ! so i really doubt its 4 PSI.
i3dm is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 10:31 AM
  #18
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

My point exactly. At 4 psi a YS swells the heck out of a plastic tank and can burst a fiberglass one, the pressure off a turbines bypass air will explode them.



Sent from my iPhone
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 11:15 AM
  #19
Gerald Rutten
 
Gerald Rutten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tilburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 403
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

A powerful turbine can deliver about 2,2Bar overpressure ( 32 PSI ) which is quiet substantial, still a lot less than used on pneumatic retraction systems. However, no fiberglass tank is designed to hold any pressure so they cannot be used for this purpose. When using pressurized smoke systems only use plastic tanks, and test them first by pumping them to 35psi to make sure you don't have to clean you model's internals..... Also installing a check valve between turbine pressure port and smoke tank is a wise idea so no fluid may accidently be pumped into the turbine when flying inverted, closing smoke valve and downspooling the turbine so it has less pressure than stored in the smoke tank.

Best regards,
Gerald
Gerald Rutten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 11:27 AM
  #20
ianober
 
ianober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 4,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

Just get a Sullivan Skywriter and be done. Its the easiest, safest and cheapest solution out there.
ianober is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 11:37 AM
  #21
Gerald Rutten
 
Gerald Rutten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tilburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 403
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ianober

..... and cheapest solution out there.
Well........that's just where this thread startet, wasn't it? A valve for just a few bucks against this sullivan pump for allmost $100,- isn't very cheap, is it?
But I agree, when you want a ready installation and aren't very handy I would go for the pump system as well. As a hobby purist I like to try everything thats sounds simple and easy to me but not everybody likes to (or should....) experiment.

Best regards,
Gerald
Gerald Rutten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 01:38 PM
  #22
MLJETS
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PLAISANCE DU TOUCH, FRANCE
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

Hi Gerald, I do agree with you. This way to make smoke is the cheapest and works fine without adding much weight in the model. I did it in the past in 2 different models.
Best regards,
Marc Levy

MLJETS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 11:14 PM
  #23
RemoteJets
 
RemoteJets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Huizen, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 529
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simple Smoke System set up

My first test with my gasstart Jetcat 120 and pressurized with the gas inlet:
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PpIPjrtx_mQ[/youtube]

Have to fine tune the set up more and then build it in the airframe somewere
RemoteJets is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:54 AM.