RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Skymaster 1:6 A10 Build

Reply

Old 08-16-2018, 02:31 AM
  #776  
pilot tw
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kaohsiung, TAIWAN
Posts: 2,366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

pilot tw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 02:50 AM
  #777  
pilot tw
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kaohsiung, TAIWAN
Posts: 2,366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

pilot tw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 03:08 AM
  #778  
pilot tw
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kaohsiung, TAIWAN
Posts: 2,366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

pilot tw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 05:24 PM
  #779  
pilot tw
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kaohsiung, TAIWAN
Posts: 2,366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

pilot tw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 05:07 AM
  #780  
Raytflorida
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ok guys new to the group! I need some direction if someone can help me out..... I'm in the last stages of my build and I'm trying to figure out these exhaust tubes and the correct/best way to install them. I haven't seen much talk of this or some good photos to guide me and as well Skymaster have made some updates to this particular item with poor manual diagram "note the angle" photo! poor . I have the Thrust tube that came with the model and is the angled tube as most have seen. My problem is from what I've seen in most photos and discussions the wooden ring does not allow me to align the tube in the orientation required on the main engine rail. Is there trimming required to mount this correctly? Can someone please display some build comments on this subject and some quality photos of the new updated G2 Thrust tube installation? Cheers Fellas
Raytflorida is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 05:04 PM
  #781  
Westwindpilot86
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Crack on right wing

Hey everyone, I have a G2 A-10. Has about 40 flights on it. No hard landings or bounces. After the hot summer I got her out to go over the jet before i start flying it again. I found a crack on the right wing right above where the landing gear is. The crack is on that hump where the dihedral starts. Picture is attached. Without taking the landing gear out i cant tell if this is just paint, or if it continues all the way down. It's been in the wing bag the whole summer and there was no crack when it went into the wing bag. The wings and wing bag have been in a climate controlled environment. The jet was bought in February of 2016. I'm a little confused how this showed up. If this has anything to do with skymaster quality than I'm really disappointed. Thanks. Any ideas?

steven
Westwindpilot86 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 06:50 AM
  #782  
pilot tw
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kaohsiung, TAIWAN
Posts: 2,366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

pilot tw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 05:37 PM
  #783  
DHC6
My Feedback: (6)
 
DHC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Limoges, On, Canada
Posts: 209
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello guys,

I am concerned about the weight if my G2 A10. Dry weight is 68lbs, and about 74lbs with fuel. Mine doesn’t have an stores, but has the rest of the scale details. It’s got plenty of power, I’m using ATJ 140s, so power isn’t an issue. I’m just concerned with the all up weight? Should I be?
DHC6 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 01:52 AM
  #784  
erh7771
My Feedback: (30)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Independence, MO
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by DHC6 View Post
Hello guys,

I am concerned about the weight if my G2 A10. Dry weight is 68lbs, and about 74lbs with fuel. Mine doesnít have an stores, but has the rest of the scale details. Itís got plenty of power, Iím using ATJ 140s, so power isnít an issue. Iím just concerned with the all up weight? Should I be?
I would think the issue would be only 6 lbs of fuel, flight times would be tight

Diesel is around 6 lbs per gallon, that's less than a gallon to fly two 140n sized turbines.
erh7771 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 03:04 AM
  #785  
DHC6
My Feedback: (6)
 
DHC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Limoges, On, Canada
Posts: 209
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes flight times are a concern as well. However 8ltrs isnít to bad for a pair of 140s. I had a 140 in my sprint and 7 min flights left me with about 1/3rd left. Plus with that much power I certainly wonít be flying full power very much. 140s seem to be pretty popular in this thread, so Iím not that worried. My main concern is how heavy it is. Seems far heavier then the suggested, and more then most?? Thatís why I was asking.
DHC6 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 12:45 PM
  #786  
Mikey5547
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Anton I noticed on skymaster website that A10 is now G3. What is difference with G3 and G2 version?
Mikey5547 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 11:37 AM
  #787  
Mikey5547
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Anton?
Mikey5547 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 11:53 PM
  #788  
pilot tw
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kaohsiung, TAIWAN
Posts: 2,366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

yes the G3 is full airex material , very light
pilot tw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:27 AM
  #789  
erh7771
My Feedback: (30)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Independence, MO
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by pilot tw View Post
yes the G3 is full airex material , very light
What is the weight without any equipment?

Thx in advance
erh7771 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:39 AM
  #790  
Mikey5547
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by pilot tw View Post
yes the G3 is full airex material , very light
Sounds great Anton!! Please tell us the weight when you can!
Mikey5547 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:32 PM
  #791  
HiCurrent
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: cypress, CA
Posts: 98
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'm thinking about getting an A10 but I heard from my friend in the case of 1 engine flame out, you going to crash it. My incentive for getting a twin is to save the plane in case of 1 engine flame out.
Has anyone experience with 1 engine flame out yet.
HiCurrent is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 07:53 AM
  #792  
Mikey5547
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by HiCurrent View Post
I'm thinking about getting an A10 but I heard from my friend in the case of 1 engine flame out, you going to crash it. My incentive for getting a twin is to save the plane in case of 1 engine flame out.
Has anyone experience with 1 engine flame out yet.
I think Anton tested it with one engine, not sure
Mikey5547 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 03:30 PM
  #793  
Gonzalo38
 
Gonzalo38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 1,132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Landing gear pressure

A friend of mine is doing a complete overhaul of my A10 landing gear. He is taking them apart, stripping the original paint, replacing seals and painting again but this time with epoxic paint.

We were wondering how many PSI's are needed in the landing gears ? Different PSI's for front and rear ?
Gonzalo38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 03:44 PM
  #794  
DHC6
My Feedback: (6)
 
DHC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Limoges, On, Canada
Posts: 209
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I use 120 PSI for my gear. Unless you have separate tanks and valves, you canít have different PSI front and rear. 120 PSI works well for my setup.
DHC6 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 04:11 PM
  #795  
f106jax
My Feedback: (16)
 
f106jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 955
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Gonzalo38 View Post
A friend of mine is doing a complete overhaul of my A10 landing gear. He is taking them apart, stripping the original paint, replacing seals and painting again but this time with epoxic paint.

We were wondering how many PSI's are needed in the landing gears ? Different PSI's for front and rear ?

Gonzalo, I have 40 psi in the mains and 30 psi in the nose. I replaced the original fluid with r/c car 40 weight shock oil. Seems to give better damping.
f106jax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 04:39 PM
  #796  
Gonzalo38
 
Gonzalo38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 1,132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by DHC6 View Post
I use 120 PSI for my gear. Unless you have separate tanks and valves, you canít have different PSI front and rear. 120 PSI works well for my setup.
DHC6... maybe you were thinking for the retract of the landing gear ? For that, I also use 120 PSI. I was referring to the pressure inside the landing gear after you have filled them with oil
Gonzalo38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 04:44 PM
  #797  
Gonzalo38
 
Gonzalo38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 1,132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by f106jax View Post
Gonzalo, I have 40 psi in the mains and 30 psi in the nose. I replaced the original fluid with r/c car 40 weight shock oil. Seems to give better damping.
f106jax..... thanks. I was planning to use a 37.5 weight shock oil so my estimation wasn't so far from what is being use. Thanks for the info....

Do you know how many oz's will be needed for each of the cylinders ?

The landing gear condition was very bad and my friend even found paint inside the cylinders


Gonzalo38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 05:11 AM
  #798  
f106jax
My Feedback: (16)
 
f106jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 955
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

"Do you know how many oz's will be needed for each of the cylinders ?"

The mains will use a full bottle of oil each, I believe that they are 2 oz. but not sure. The nose will use about 3/4 of the bottle. Not very scientific but works well.
When putting oil in the struts, I put some in and then bled the air before putting more in. Skymaster has a great video on their website under "instruction manuals" on how to do this.
f106jax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 06:19 AM
  #799  
Gonzalo38
 
Gonzalo38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 1,132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for taking the time to share the info.....
Gonzalo38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 07:31 AM
  #800  
JJP
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brentwood Bay, BC, CANADA
Posts: 81
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I am curious now as to the actual capacity of the fuel tanks on the skymaster A-10. Does anyone know? Or the difference between a dry weight and the wet weight would be helpful. I just need the total weight of the fuel load.
JJP is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service