Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Cougar Wiggle

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Cougar Wiggle

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2011, 05:39 AM
Malcolm H

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Cougar Wiggle

Point taken Harry but old habits die hard.

Picture the scene, flying from a runway intersection. Model on finals, nose well up and positive rate of decent. As it gets near me I notice out the corner of my eye that the track will take it into the grass verge on the other side of the intersection so I squeeze the rudder stick and it rolls just about as rapidly as on aileron and I'm forced to roll upright and land it where ever it wants to go. This cost me a bent nosegear pin and a lost door so I won't be doing that again. I know I should have considered an overshoot but as a novice jet pilot I wasn't sure I could have the motor spool up in time.

Hopefully my new L39 will have better handling characteristics although I'm told that these need rudder gyros too!

Malcolm
Old 03-07-2011, 06:47 AM
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)

Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts

ORIGINAL: Malcolm H

Model on finals, nose well up.......... so I squeeze the rudder stick
ooh, an old habit well worth getting rid of Malcolm!

H
Old 03-13-2011, 06:01 PM
vetagator
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts