RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

FASST for JR?

Reply
Old 03-28-2011, 11:38 PM
  #1
Moerig
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , NAMIBIA
Posts: 303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FASST for JR?

Hi,
Considering using this for my old 9ch JR 35MHz. Any good?
http://www.sloughrc.com/default.asp?...emid=P-RM12-MX
MM
Moerig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:46 PM
  #2
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Here's some info for you:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1131698
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 12:12 AM
  #3
Moerig
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , NAMIBIA
Posts: 303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Thanx,
Interestingly the Hobbico (US?) version is discontinued.
Moerig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 12:30 AM
  #4
Roger M
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Harpenden, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

I've been using one in my MX22 for 2 years without any issues at all and all my jets are using FASST Rx's. It gives you the best of both worlds, in that you keep the JR programming and have a solid 2.4GHz link.

Roger
Roger M is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 02:25 AM
  #5
Ruizmilton
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Carolina, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Been using the Ripmax module (same as Hobbico) for about 9 months with zero issues, good solid link, no need to mess with antennas and satelite receivers.
Ruizmilton is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 03:07 AM
  #6
Rider-60
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chevrieres, FRANCE
Posts: 1,076
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Will the S-bus receivers work with the Rasst modules?
Rider-60 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 08:03 AM
  #7
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Rider-60

Will the S-bus receivers work with the Rasst modules?
If the RASST modules link with the Futaba FASST Rx's there is no reason why not, the S-Bus is just another FASST Rx.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 08:16 PM
  #8
c/f
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: evansville, IN
Posts: 773
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Post #4 at RCG is mine and still the Robbe FASST module in a JR 9303 is rock solid.

Last season I flew a 50CC bipe converted to electric 4500W and bought a FASST 14 chnl RX and an Orbit powerjack in the front end, this has been awesome with long leads and 7 servos @ 200oz each using LIFE 2s no regs. NOT a single hiccup with FASST JR

http://www.hobbydirekt.de/product_in...ucts_id=158453

IMHO till all this 2.4g sorts itself out the legacy module based JR TX second hand are the best bang for the buck as people unload them for dedicated 2.4g tx. I picked up a 9303 with a Spektrum module for $125.

I'm even thinking the Hitec 2.4g module and 2 6 chnl full range rX for a MAP of $159 would be worth a try, You get telemetry downloadable via laptop but the airborne low battery voltage of the telemtry is said to be an audible alarm within the module itself.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...6&postcount=55

I personally am not ready to change over a turbine until I figure out how it is with a jet with large amounts of stainless, carbon and composites, fuel cells ect are exempt from signal blocking, if its a non issue why ever mention it in the first place, why go to extremes with multi point satelites ect? I know its done just freaks me out @ 199.99mph
c/f is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 08:33 PM
  #9
Ruizmilton
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Carolina, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

c/f:

The FASST module I have been using on my XP9303 has been strictly on turbine jets since I would not even consider a Spektrum RF link on them.
Ruizmilton is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 02:27 PM
  #10
ajp
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Hitec will soon release a module for JR transmitters

http://www.hitecrcd.com/products/new...pectra24j.html
ajp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 04:43 PM
  #11
Ruizmilton
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Carolina, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

I wanted the Spectra module also because of the lower cost, design of the receivers, telemetry and my experience with Hitec, but so far I have read about too many RF link issues (blackouts) for me to trust the system, so I opted for the Futaba module, and so far not a single issue and outstanding range even in fuselages with plenty of carbon fiber.
Ruizmilton is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 07:13 PM
  #12
toto_sal
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: La Libertad, EL SALVADOR
Posts: 175
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

FASST... No need for satelites... Plain and simple. Rx may be more expensive but when considering the cost of a jet, this should be no issue. I have been using my fut 9c radio with module for the past 2 years and no issues what so ever. Just gave myself a treat and bought a fut 10c with 14 ch rx...
toto_sal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 11:44 PM
  #13
Moerig
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , NAMIBIA
Posts: 303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Thanks, all the input is much appreciated. I think I will go ahead and order one. Does anyone know the maximum channels that can be extracted from PCM or is it PPM only?
MM
Moerig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 11:50 PM
  #14
Roger M
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Harpenden, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

MM

You have to set your Tx to PPM and depending upon the model you can get up to 12 channels (MX22), but I believe the JR 9xxx and 10x series only provide 9 channels in PPM mode. If you need more channels, then an MX22, MX24 or Futaba Tx will be necessary.

Roger
Roger M is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 01:24 AM
  #15
Moerig
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , NAMIBIA
Posts: 303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Roger M

MM

You have to set your Tx to PPM and depending upon the model you can get up to 12 channels (MX22), but I believe the JR 9xxx and 10x series only provide 9 channels in PPM mode. If you need more channels, then an MX22, MX24 or Futaba Tx will be necessary.

Roger
Thanx Roger, I suspected as much. For My 9x I will have all channels then.
Moerig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 01:50 AM
  #16
chrigui
 
chrigui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ferrara, ITALY
Posts: 1,549
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

i have mx-22 IN PPM24 and spektrum 12ch tx module

all 12 ch in mx22 are available for ar12000
chrigui is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 01:56 AM
  #17
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Before you buy have a look at the Futaba FG8 FASST it is now capable of operating on 14 channels with the software update, thats 12 proportional and two switched.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 02:24 AM
  #18
GrayUK
 
GrayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dunstable, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Yes BaldEagle.
Great update, a few of our club members who fly with the 8 are well pleased.
Paul
GrayUK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 03:32 AM
  #19
chrigui
 
chrigui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ferrara, ITALY
Posts: 1,549
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

my friend use in the same mx-22 ROBBE-FUTABA 2,4GHZ module without problem
chrigui is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 03:24 AM
  #20
Countryboy
 
Countryboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 2,652
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Is there a USA based supplier for the Robbe JR Fasst module?
Countryboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 03:30 AM
  #21
Ruizmilton
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Carolina, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

are you looking for the plug-in module or the the one you wire up internally? I did some reserach before I bought mine and seems no one in the US carries them.
Ruizmilton is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:12 AM
  #22
proline8000
 
proline8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Newburyport, MA
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

You can purchase this module from Tower under the ACE R/C name for 79.95
proline8000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:39 AM
  #23
Ruizmilton
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Carolina, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

FYI.. the ACE module is for their own receivers, not FASST, and will only encode 6 channels...
Ruizmilton is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:02 PM
  #24
ozzieflyer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: GeelongVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 203
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

Found you can still get the Robbe Module,
But I have a question.
If I go for the R617 receiver,

See the info on the Failsafe,
this is an extarct from the manual for the FASST module for the JR, from the Robbe site.

Here's some of the info
The fail-safe function is permanently pre-set to Channel 3 (throttle) on
the R 607 FS and R617 FS receivers. Due to differences in servo
assignment sequences between Graupner equipment (throttle channel
1) and robbe/Futaba systems (throttle channel 3), channels 1 and 3 are
interchanged in the software of the HFM 12MX module. As a result it is
necessary to swap over the servo outputs 1 and 3 at the receiver (see
table below).

Since the receiver output assignment of Graupner modules is different
from that of robbe (Futaba) modules, the output assignment must be altered
at the receiver in accordance with the following table

Acro
Channel Graupner Rasst
1 Throttle Aileron
2 Aileron Elevator
3 Elevator Throttle
4 Rudder Rudder

SO
Does this mean the Throttle changes channel BECAUSE of the FASST module?
If so, all will be good, but if not, how do I swap the channel in the JR10x, so that the failsafe makes sense, and works on the Throttle?
As I understand, if i was using a R6208SB, the failsafe works for all channels. But teh R617 is at a good pricebreak, and I have quite a few models that will need a new FASST Rx, but only use 4-5 channels, so if I can work out the failsafe, it will be full steam ahead.
ozzieflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 07:12 AM
  #25
Countryboy
 
Countryboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 2,652
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FASST for JR?

The change is strictly module based...nothing changes in the radio. Set failsafes as you would normally. Just received my Robbe Fasst module a couple weeks ago for my JR and I like it. The binding process is so easy and the link on power-up is almost instant. I'm using the Futaba R6014HS receiver, but it should not be any different than your R617.
Countryboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:59 PM.