RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Falcon 120 "wingmod" *video*

Reply
Old 07-20-2011, 09:56 AM
  #1
Henke Torphammar
Thread Starter
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Falcon 120 "wingmod" *video*

I bought a Falcon 120 kit some years ago. Due to the low quality of the kit I put it away for some years to dig it out this summer. My plan was to use it as a flying wing which needed relocation of the landinggear... opening the wing I saw the disaster and the amount of work needed to make it durable enough for grass field operation... so I jumped the gear and decided SOG (slide of ground) would be good enough :-)

For power I use the Haoye 5" EDF with a Scorpion 4035-800 motor, the setup uses 159A from a 10S pack and provides enough thrust for unlimited verticals. Topspeed seem to be around 125mph due to my Android app which dopplers the plane in the air, flight times about 4min on my 5000mAh packs with power to spare for a couple of aborted landings.

I was surprised of the amount of power the fan put out, even with a turbine setup very fiew planes have the oumpf to go straight up from the start.

I'm not saying this is better then anything else, just that I with inspiration from the guys at rcgroups.com came up with a pretty cheap way of flying a pretty large jet model with an EDF setup.




[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jy8NNlGUApY[/youtube]



Henke Torphammar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 12:03 PM
  #2
John Casey
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120

Well done modification.....great flight....
John Casey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 12:29 PM
  #3
RAPPTOR
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: WEST PALM BEACH, FL
Posts: 1,474
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120

KOOL..C/G STILL 13 INCHES?? STOCK??
RAPPTOR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 01:15 PM
  #4
Henke Torphammar
Thread Starter
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RAPPTOR

KOOL..C/G STILL 13 INCHES?? STOCK??
About 10,5" CG, you also need to cut away the flaps part of the wing and align it with the motormount, or rather cut 4/5 and crack it up, then fill the gap with balsa and the glue of your choice. :-)

Henke Torphammar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 02:14 PM
  #5
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120

Now that is impressive, I don't mean the Falcon, but how flat your grass patch is. LOL I would kill for a grass patch that flat even the sheep poo forms bumps bigger than the wheels at our site. and if you ever run out of epoxy use sheep poo, its impossible to get off once its dried.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 05:01 PM
  #6
rocketman-RCU
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 206
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120

I'm not sure what you meant regarding the flaps. So you are flying with elevons and no flaps? And the wing inside the stabs are inline with the motor mount? Looks like rudders, but I can't see the servos.
rocketman-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 06:02 PM
  #7
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120

It´s a smart and quick Idea... nice! As a bonus you can fly it easily on snow too.


Enrique



erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 12:21 AM
  #8
Henke Torphammar
Thread Starter
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rocketman-RCU

I'm not sure what you meant regarding the flaps. So you are flying with elevons and no flaps? And the wing inside the stabs are inline with the motor mount? Looks like rudders, but I can't see the servos.
The upper surface of the trailing edge needs to be level with the motor mounting platform. Flying it with only two servos.
Henke Torphammar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:50 AM
  #9
mvivona
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120

Anyone building the Falcon 120 needs to see the 6 part instructional video on Youtube.
It is the BEST one out there. Covers every aspect of the build. Sure wish I would have know about this before I built my first one.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYYo4...ature=youtu.be
mvivona is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 10:40 AM
  #10
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,746
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120

Love it (the wing mod not the edf )

So who is going to be first with a turbine version?
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:01 AM
  #11
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,912
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120

Cool wing mod ! how bad would it be on the stock gear location ? perhaps adding trailing link struts could help ?
i3dm is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:18 AM
  #12
Dr Honda
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Henke Torphammar




About 10,5'' CG, you also need to cut away the flaps part of the wing and align it with the motormount, or rather cut 4/5 and crack it up, then fill the gap with balsa and the glue of your choice. :-)


Is this to ad reflex to the design?




Quote:
ORIGINAL: Xairflyer

Love it (the wing mod not the edf )

So who is going to be first with a turbine version?
I have a falcon that's stripped to be "Beefed-up" a little. Maybe this is what I need to do to it. If I added canards... it would be a Jr Rookie.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:29 AM
  #13
Henke Torphammar
Thread Starter
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120


Quote:
ORIGINAL: i3dm

Cool wing mod ! how bad would it be on the stock gear location ? perhaps adding trailing link struts could help ?
As the CG moves forward by about 3" you need to follow with the landing gear, trailing links would make it worse. A quite easy fix if you got materials and a proper jigsaw and a good rectract system to use. I didn't at the moment.

Henke Torphammar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:30 AM
  #14
Henke Torphammar
Thread Starter
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Falcon 120


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Henke



About 10,5'' CG, you also need to cut away the flaps part of the wing and align it with the motormount, or rather cut 4/5 and crack it up, then fill the gap with balsa and the glue of your choice. :-)



Quote:
ORIGINAL: Dr Honda

Is this to ad reflex to the design?
Yep!
Henke Torphammar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:24 AM.