RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Reply
Old 01-02-2012, 09:25 AM
  #76
Ali
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Xairflyer

Why would you want two?, does in not have enough model memory's, it would want a 1000 model capacity at it's price so I cant see the need for a second one.

One for each hand of course!!!!
Ali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 09:41 AM
  #77
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: schroedm

Mike,

Be interesting to see if it has the CE mark on it. If not, you're at risk if something goes wrong and your TX is ''illegal''.

As for the Spanish price I'll believe that when someone buys it for that [X(]

Mark
Mark

True, just as well I am not in the market for one.

Ali

I see its a C of G issue trying to keep in lateral balance.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 10:07 AM
  #78
PHIL GREENO
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: HarrowMiddlesex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Had some time to use my 18MZ this weekend at Classic Jets and on Sunday at Chalgrove (winter jet fest).

No problems uploaded model data from my 14MZ and also transferred model picture from my PC although you could use inbuilt camera.

Model flew fine no trim change,very easy conversion.

Liked large timer screen on Home 2 button,usefull for your spotter to look over your shoulder and easly see the count down in daylight. Keeps you updated on fuel time left.

Still reading 100% battery life after 3 flights.Would have had more but weather closed in.

Great radio and I have not even tried to see what else it will do.

Some guys are moaning about the price but you have to get it into proportion.My first proportional RC set was a Skyleader SL6 6 channel with red Logitrol servos.It cost £169.19/6d in September 1969 at the Model Exchange Watford,thats £4000.00 intodays money.I know because I also bought abrand new MG Midget sports car3 months later andit was £740.00.on the road,the Skyleader set was 25% the cost of a newsmall sports car. 27mhz AM fixedxtals and just 4 trims,noservo reverse,no screen,just 2 dual axis sticks with trims and 2 sliders for channel 5/6 for £4000.00 a bargain.We had no choice thats all you got and thats what it cost unless you bought one oftheWorld Engine radios/kits that DaveW's Dad made and that was cheaper buy not by much.So chaps our modern all singing all dancing 2.4GHz radios are super cheap we just dont realise it.

Phil.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19792.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	430.0 KB
ID:	1708549   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sn42402.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	510.7 KB
ID:	1708550   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qv55326.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	470.8 KB
ID:	1708551   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bv59163.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	45.1 KB
ID:	1708552  
PHIL GREENO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 10:26 AM
  #79
schroedm
 
schroedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SevenoaksKent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 5,193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

C'mon Phil, lose the 'Futaba Corporation'
schroedm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 10:48 AM
  #80
PHIL GREENO
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: HarrowMiddlesex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED



Mark,

Is that better,date/time updated too.

Phil

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay74282.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	449.7 KB
ID:	1708573  
PHIL GREENO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:06 AM
  #81
schroedm
 
schroedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SevenoaksKent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 5,193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Nearly!

"Phil Greeno" = Spot on
schroedm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:59 AM
  #82
indubitably
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 321
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Well, its good to see that they cannot keep them in stock. Back orders, and selling fast.
indubitably is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 12:04 PM
  #83
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,746
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ali


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Xairflyer

Why would you want two?, does in not have enough model memory's, it would want a 1000 model capacity at it's price so I cant see the need for a second one.

One for each hand of course!!!!
two better than one there for sure
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 12:44 PM
  #84
Sonicwings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Hi all,

Happy New Year...

Great to see some info and feedback on the 18 in use, Thanks Phil...

How is the Home 2 screen accessed to bring up the Big timers.? Now thats a Neat feature...

Hooking the TX up to laptop, Is there a CD, or APP, to do this.? can one store model programs.? Adjust Programs.? Look thru programs.? Whats the options there.?

Im assuming its windows based, wont work on a Mac, anyone know differently.?

Cheers Jeremy
Sonicwings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 05:54 PM
  #85
hobby_man
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

NO bind and fly units for Futaba, I do not care how many LCD screens they have. I was a huge Futaba a fan until 4 years ago.

Then I woke up!
hobby_man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 08:49 PM
  #86
Firepower R/C
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Yeah, they are kind of missing the boat on that one, but the high-end guys won't care.
Firepower R/C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:07 PM
  #87
PHIL GREENO
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: HarrowMiddlesex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

I use my "its free with a packet of cornflakes" super cheap DX6i tranny for the "bind and fly" models.

Onefill up with deisel in your van = one DX6i tranny.Thats how cheap our hobby really is !!!!!!!

You have never been so lucky.

Phil.
PHIL GREENO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:46 AM
  #88
Mark H
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: thetford, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Home 2 screen is already configured and is on the normal home screen, once it has been pressed the tranny screen shows large timer, this dims after you preset dim timer cuts in ,but by just pressing the bottom right of the screen the timer re lights so you can see it with out pushing s2s3 again.
It is windows compatiable you can also plug a USB mouse in to the side so when setting up new model there is no need to use your touch screen the mouse can do it all . Yesterday and new years day put another 10 flights on mine and also two flights were made on jet bikes euro sport this is also now on an 18 after he saw mine on 27th he went out and bought one. Anybody want to buy some Mz14 now!
Regards Mark Hinton.
Mark H is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:49 AM
  #89
bigplumbs
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,725
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: PHIL GREENO

I use my "its free with a packet of cornflakes" super cheap DX6i tranny for the "bind and fly" models.

Onefill up with deisel in your van = one DX6i tranny.Thats how cheap our hobby really is !!!!!!!

You have never been so lucky.

Phil.

Or diesel is just very expensive
bigplumbs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:58 AM
  #90
DougV
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Miramar, FL
Posts: 958
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

I use a cheap spektrum radio for the BNF models, I just don' t want to use my good radio for that.

By the way Futaba Transmitter Ready (FTR) rc models should be out soon. http://futabarc.com/technology/fhss.html

Doug.
DougV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:57 AM
  #91
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

,
received a very nice box today with a 18MZ, a bunch of receivers and some powerboxes!
Now just need to change receivers/powerboxes in 6 jets, not something I look forward to [:-]
But, I think I already found the first (cosmetic) bug in the 18MZ, when I enter my name in the username screen, after I press enter on the "keyboard screen", it returns to the previous screen as it should, however there is a "floating" entry field on the screen, and no matter what I do, I can not get it to use the name I entered. The floating entryfield stays on the screen even if I change to other screens. Only way to get rid of it, is to press the small x in the corner of the entryfield....
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:02 AM
  #92
schroedm
 
schroedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SevenoaksKent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 5,193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Carsten,

Glad box arrived Ok!

Known, reported and being fixed. Cosmetic only


Cheers,
Mark
schroedm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:02 AM
  #93
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

...and the same goes for the screen where I can change a models name for example...
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:07 AM
  #94
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Ahh, nice
But how do you go ahead and change for example the model name (change from Model1 to something else ?)

EDIT: Found that, use an external keyboard [8D]

PS: Thanks A LOT to Mark for helping me getting the 18MZ, sorting all the receivers and the powerboxes !!
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 03:20 PM
  #95
Selleri
 
Selleri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Keflavik, ICELAND
Posts: 1,116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Carsten Groen

But how do you go ahead and change for example the model name (change from Model1 to something else ?)

EDIT: Found that, use an external keyboard [8D]
Seriously, you can't do it in the Tx?
Selleri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 12:48 AM
  #96
jescardin
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Talamanca de JaramaMadrid, SPAIN
Posts: 432
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: siclick33

Jesus,

Where can you get it for that price? The websites that I have seen are showing approximately 2,500 Euros.


Does anyone know if an ECU telemetry interface is in the works? It would be really nice to be able to monitor starts without the data terminal.
Hi friends.

Sorry for delay answering but I was out due to New Year´s Eve and didn´t find the comment till now.

Enclosed you all may read the Futaba distributor ad in Spanish magazine RC Model issue 124. There the normal price is advertised as 2.399,00€ and special introductory price as 2.199,00€.

With the ad there is a coupon which reads: "Take advantage of this offer!. Preorder Coupon. Write this coupon with your personal data and hand it to your local shop before 31st December 2011. The model shop will process your preorder and will stamp the coupon. As soon as the 18MZ is received, you will be able of purchasing it at the fantastic price and conditions from this limited offer."

It also reads as expected delivery time: 15/12/11 to 15/01/12.

Although time is over, if anybody would like to try with any model shop I will completely scan the offer coupon and give a list of Spain model shops with post sales service.

It must be clear I do not have any relation with any Spanish model shop but do with FUTABA Spanish distributor for whom I help with Repair Service and Spanish Manual translations.

Best Regards,

Jesus Cardin
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu59512.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	251.9 KB
ID:	1709540  
jescardin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:27 AM
  #97
SpiderJets
 
SpiderJets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: .., BELGIUM
Posts: 1,592
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Hi Guys,

Just curious : did they add any submenu especially devoted to retract&door sequencing ?
I had understood previously that this developement was in the pipeline, and I think a lot of us would prefer this more than trying out one of the generic software options (like was on the 14MZ)

Nicolas.
SpiderJets is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:35 PM
  #98
indubitably
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 321
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Availability
Tower is now saying early Feb. These things must be flying out the door. I just cannot find them there, may have to back order one. Glad to see that people are really enjoying them.
I stopped by the Futaba booth today and met the 18MZ for the first time. Couldnt help but smile, as it was better than i had anticipated. I had the 14, and wasnt shure how to take some of the positive statements, but its there, and gorgeous.
The new 8 ch reciever with the telemetry is even smaller than the 6208. Apparently there will abe new bus systems with 16 gage wire for us holding out for the more robust servos. Yes i know i can put batteries every where, but i want to put them in the nose with the larger wires, so might make up my own three wire with 16 gage. Or will the bigger wire system come with different plug systems, like Deans possibly?
But the transmitter is amazing, and i may have to worry about the reciever end when one comes available.
John
indubitably is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:17 PM
  #99
Scott Geller
 
Scott Geller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Andover, NJ
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Carsten Groen

,

But, I think I already found the first (cosmetic) bug in the 18MZ, when I enter my name in the username screen, after I press enter on the ''keyboard screen'', it returns to the previous screen as it should, however there is a ''floating'' entry field on the screen, and no matter what I do, I can not get it to use the name I entered. The floating entryfield stays on the screen even if I change to other screens. Only way to get rid of it, is to press the small x in the corner of the entryfield....
I was wondering what that was about. Interestingly enough, I rebooted and I was able to enter my name without issue.
Scott Geller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 02:26 AM
  #100
Bob Toilet
 
Bob Toilet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 476
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Where can i buy the needed Futaba mirror for mine? One looked a bit different than the rest:-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40836.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	31.0 KB
ID:	1712375   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk26754.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	96.8 KB
ID:	1712376  
Bob Toilet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:23 PM.