RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Reply
Old 05-07-2012, 10:13 AM
  #176
cairoman
 
cairoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nicosia, , CYPRUS
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Yep. I did, but find it very difficult to log on to a German site, translated into English and download!

Chris
cairoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:38 PM
  #177
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

You have to extract the file, it's compressed.

m
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:53 PM
  #178
cairoman
 
cairoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nicosia, , CYPRUS
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Did that too. Is the update compatible with IMac?

Chris
cairoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:21 PM
  #179
Kevin_W
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 1,168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: cairoman

Did that too. Is the update compatible with IMac?

Chris
I doubt it.
Since the 18MZ runs Windows CE, and both the SBUS servo programming software and the SBD programming software are only available for Windows, so I have a feeling that none of the Futaba software for the 18MZ is being written for other operating systems.
Kevin_W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:27 PM
  #180
Don Perry
 
Don Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oklahoama City, OK
Posts: 677
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

I have a iMac and just got mine to update.

you just have to make sure all of the files are unzipped.

The first time I tried it did not work even though i told it to unzip all.

I went back and found there were two more that had to be unzipped once i did that it worked!
Don Perry is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:11 PM
  #181
Skaluf
 
Skaluf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Quick instructions: Download the files. Unzip the files. You should now have a folder titled Update and an instructional .pdf. In the folder are four files. Be sure you have unzipped the folder and it's contents.

Put your 18MZ's SD card in your computers card reader and open it. If you see a folder titled Update on the SD card, delete it.

Drag the Update folder from your computer to the SD card. Once the copy is complete, open the Update folder on the SD card to assure you have four files in it.

Eject the SD card from your computer and remove it from the card reader.

Place the card in your 18MZ and move the little update switch to the update position. Power up the 18MZ and follow the on screen instructions.

Once complete, power down, and move the switch back to the normal position. Your update is complete.

Steve
Skaluf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:46 PM
  #182
cairoman
 
cairoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nicosia, , CYPRUS
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

I don't know how you guys do it, but my iMac will not unzip the file named T18MZ.exe

I keep getting a message "the contents of the file "T18MZ.exe cannot be extracted with this program" and I am using unZip, just like I unzipped the downloaded pack.
cairoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:48 PM
  #183
cairoman
 
cairoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nicosia, , CYPRUS
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Sorry, double post
cairoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:13 PM
  #184
cairoman
 
cairoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nicosia, , CYPRUS
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Just to let all know, it worked, when I copied the file from a Windows laptop. All is well now.

Chris
cairoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:54 PM
  #185
modtron
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chinnor, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 196
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

It all works fine using a Mac, but you MUST un-zip All of the files, otherwise you will get the Failure notice.

modtron
Oxford UK
modtron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:56 AM
  #186
haisanjafri
 
haisanjafri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lahore, PAKISTAN
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

The strongest link an aeromodeller may buy
haisanjafri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:58 AM
  #187
haisanjafri
 
haisanjafri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lahore, PAKISTAN
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Received mine few weeks ago!
Just feeling like a Captain Jean Luc Picardsitting at his control seat in command & control center

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz78282.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	104.4 KB
ID:	1760334   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hc93503.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	101.8 KB
ID:	1760335   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va72996.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	126.3 KB
ID:	1760336  
haisanjafri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 02:11 AM
  #188
Couch Potato
 
Couch Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coventry, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: haisanjafri
Just feeling like a Captain Jean Luc Picard sitting at his control seat in command & control center
....then the Credit Card bill arrives !

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl30366.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	1760340  
Couch Potato is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 03:24 AM
  #189
haisanjafri
 
haisanjafri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lahore, PAKISTAN
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

lolz Couch Potato

However, I bought it at full advance cash payment which I happened to be saving quite from sometime now.

I think now StarTrek Enterprise can use it for another 5 years...


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wt59249.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	86.6 KB
ID:	1760367  
haisanjafri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:39 AM
  #190
Andrew Bird
 
Andrew Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Henley on Thames, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Oh dear - toy planes and Star Trek references in the same place[:@] Whoever said modelling was for nerds?!?
Andrew Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 07:25 AM
  #191
jzuniga
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Andrew Bird

Oh dear - toy planes and Star Trek references in the same place[:@] Whoever said modelling was for nerds?!?
Everyone but us RC geeks! LOL

Z
jzuniga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:25 AM
  #192
BobH
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Springfield, VA,
Posts: 7,583
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

A question for those who have upgraded from the 14mz. Do think its worth the investment to upgrade? And if so.. why? I thought about upgrading but I couldnt think of compelling enough reasons.
BobH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:57 PM
  #193
MX240
 
MX240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PoDunk City, NE
Posts: 1,032
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Gosh, I wish Futaba could upgrade all their servo wireing.
Such small diameter in todays world.

Rubber servo grommets for vibration deading could us a upgrade also.

Come on Futaba get on the stick and fix what you already sell.
MX240 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 03:14 PM
  #194
haisanjafri
 
haisanjafri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lahore, PAKISTAN
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Andrew Bird

Oh dear - toy planes and Star Trek references in the same place[:@] Whoever said modelling was for nerds?!?
"Toy" Planes???

By God these RC Jets are far more complexed than the stage setup of StarTrek of its time.

haisanjafri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 01:44 PM
  #195
tassos p
 
tassos p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: DUBAI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 384
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

HELP PLEASE

I need to set up CROW - it used to work fine on my 14MZ but does not anymore on the 18MZ although I copied the files and everything else seems to work very well.

I have set CROW through the "CAMBER MIX" menu under the "MODEL MENU"

Can you please check with your radios out there when you select any condition (I have made a separate "CROW CONDITION") when you press the ACT/INH button what are the alternatives on your radio. It should be ACT or INH right? Well in mine it is either ACT or OFF (see picture bellow).

Can you please check on your radios if you get the same? Is this a bug or does the "OFF" depend on something else which I'm missing????

I can't activate the CAMBER MIX and thus the CROW. Very strange.

Your feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Tassos
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35745.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	91.9 KB
ID:	1760982  
tassos p is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 01:52 PM
  #196
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

I am not sure about the 18, but on the 12 you set crow on the Airbrake function, this gives you aileron, flaps and elevator control without using any mix's.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 01:54 PM
  #197
siclick33
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,547
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

I'm not sure about the 18 either but do you have a switch assigned to the mix?

Are the screen options INH and OFF? If so, what happens if you flick the switch assigned to the mix? Does OFF change to ON?
siclick33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 02:03 PM
  #198
tassos p
 
tassos p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: DUBAI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 384
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: siclick33

I'm not sure about the 18 either but do you have a switch assigned to the mix?

Are the screen options INH and OFF? If so, what happens if you flick the switch assigned to the mix? Does OFF change to ON?
No, no switch assigned, the CROW is activated when changing to "Landing with Crow" condition.

Yes, option is only between INH and OFF. Can you please try it on your 18?

Tassos
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu61404.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	80.6 KB
ID:	1760984  
tassos p is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:10 PM
  #199
siclick33
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,547
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

A long shot here as I don't have a 18MZ but in the absence of any expert assistance so far (I'm sure it will come), what happens when you press the ON button by 'switch' on the first screenshot? Do you get the option to select NULL?
siclick33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:45 PM
  #200
tassos p
 
tassos p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: DUBAI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 384
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Quote:
ORIGINAL: siclick33

A long shot here as I don't have a 18MZ but in the absence of any expert assistance so far (I'm sure it will come), what happens when you press the ON button by 'switch' on the first screenshot? Do you get the option to select NULL?
Nope, nothing. If in the 'SWITCH' you choose 'ON' the CAMBER MIX doesn't depend on a SWITCH it is always 'ON'.

I can't set CAMBER MIX to ACT.

Just to clarify things the wing layout is with 1 servo for flaps and 2 separate ailerons as per attached picture.

Can someone help please (I hope I didn't discover a bug).

Tassos

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	If10647.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	1761155  
tassos p is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:24 PM.