Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Turbine Jet Trainer- Is it necessary?

I've been flying for 15 years now and want to get into the Jet Turbines. I really want to get a nice looking jet and avoid having to go through a trainer. I've flown warbirds and edf. From your experience, is it necessary for me to start with a turbine trainer? Thanks

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Turbine Jet Trainer- Is it necessary?

If you feel confident you don't 'need' a trainer, then you will be fine. I know several people who started in scale jets, including me, that had no trouble transitioning to turbines.

... I had no ducted fan experience prior to turbines.
    Mike * Intercepting The Localizer* AMA# 365566
    Bud Nosen C-310 Club #32 * J.P.O. Member 2302

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

The problem is no one knows how well you fly, there are some guys at our field who have been flying for 20years on all sorts of airframes including war birds, but if I had the power I would put them back on dual, only you know how well you can fly and if you can cope with that situation that may catch you out, in truth turbines are not that different once off the ground, just faster at the top end and slower to respond at the bottom end, you obviously have some reservations about your own ability because you have asked the question, why not get in touch with someone who fly's turbines and see if you can get on a buddy box with them, then you will have first hand experience and be able make up your own mind.

Mike
    My Gast is Flabered.
    No matter what anyone say's 100% is the maximum you can get.