Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

preferred gluing method for nose gear plywood runners ??

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

preferred gluing method for nose gear plywood runners ??

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2012, 09:09 AM
rcfun2005

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default preferred gluing method for nose gear plywood runners ??

so working on repairing nose gear on my first new used modellbau tornado jet i just got.

i am new to jet repairs / building

so what is better but easier method non toxic way to do gluing plywood runners and bulkheads for nose gear.

epoxy , fiberglass , wood glue ..

not sure what is the strongest for this type application ?

thanks
Old 01-12-2012, 09:19 AM
proline8000
My Feedback: (12)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: preferred gluing method for nose gear plywood runners ??

I hve been using West System Six10 epoxy for a wile now and like it better than Hysol. It is avalible at ant marine store.
Old 01-12-2012, 09:53 AM
jroth
My Feedback: (60)

Hi,

It was good talking to you, good luck in the jet world, it is a lot of fun and most of the guys are willing to help.

After the glass work is repaired and everything is scuffed with 60 grit sand paper and cleaned with methanol (Methyl Alcohol), I reinstall the formers and rails with Hysol E-00NS™ High Viscosity—thick for use on vertical surfaces. Also bonds ceramic, glass, and wood. I like E-00NS because it has a 3 to 5 minute pot life, but you can also use Hysol 9462 which has a 55 minutes pot life. BVM also sells Aeropoxy which can be used.

[link=http://www.mcmaster.com/#catalog/117/3373/=frx85z]HYSOL E-00NS[/link]

I hope this helps, let me know if you have any questions.

John
Old 01-12-2012, 10:31 AM
rcfun2005

hey John , thanks for taking time out to pass along the building tips !!

Old 01-12-2012, 01:43 PM
RCJetBazz