RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Spektrum DX18

Reply
Old 02-24-2012, 05:44 AM
  #276
madmodelman
 
madmodelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

It's supposed to be for "pro" fliers!
madmodelman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 06:21 AM
  #277
LittleBob
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Braintree, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: madmodelman

It's supposed to be for "pro" fliers!
Very good point indeed. I will stick to my Parkzone TX
LittleBob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 07:44 AM
  #278
madmodelman
 
madmodelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Lol
madmodelman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 10:00 AM
  #279
3d flip
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: felixstowe, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 89
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Are you shore you can handle the 2 sticks on your parkzone TX. It might be better to start with this
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp43716.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	1731183  
3d flip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 11:05 AM
  #280
airraptor
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

I will be getting the DX18 to fly my UMX's....... i wonder if i can bind three at a time lol
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 11:10 AM
  #281
LittleBob
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Braintree, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: 3d flip

Are you shore you can handle the 2 sticks on your parkzone TX. It might be better to start with this

That one looks far too complicated for me. I am going back to reeds
LittleBob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:26 AM
  #282
jetster81
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: london, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

I have just had a good look at the specification of the 18 and very nice too, it just strikes me as a set for people who cannot programme a radio, or am I missing something here?
jetster81 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:24 AM
  #283
Ron Stahl
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: reisterstown, MD
Posts: 1,836
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

I held one in my hands yesterday at the WRAM Show. It felt kind of smaller and lighter than I expected. I really could feel the difference between it and my 12x with the 12x winning out hands down in the gut feeling of quality of materials used but I still like it and chose to get one on order. I was told late third or early fourth quarter this year for the first ones in customers hands. When I pointed out that this was the same story I've been told for the last year on other HH products and said not to hold my breath he asked what I was waiting on so I told him. The young man said they showed the DX10 way to early and were really not expecting the reactions they got for orders and were under prepared for the US reaction of orders. I informed him that I had a DX 10 on order got tired of waiting, bought something else with the funds. I am ordering a DX18 and if they are late that will be the third strike since they have yet to ship any DX10's or F-4 EDF's to customers with excuses each month as to why they are late. I can't believe that whoever blew it on these two products still has a job their after all of the missed delivery dates as of late.
Ron Stahl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:16 AM
  #284
DominicM
 
DominicM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hampshire, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Quote:
ORIGINAL: John Redman

More info coming very soon, this week I would guess.
Guessed wrong then. Maybe this week?
DominicM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:28 AM
  #285
w4sm
 
w4sm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Louisa, VA
Posts: 131
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DominicM

Quote:
ORIGINAL: John Redman

More info coming very soon, this week I would guess.
Guessed wrong then. Maybe this week?

Web site says "late July"

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...rodId=SPM18000

w4sm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 12:43 PM
  #286
John Redman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lancaster, CA IL
Posts: 2,310
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

DX18 went live last week.
http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...0-md2-SPM18000

Available for backorders.
John Redman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 05:51 AM
  #287
DominicM
 
DominicM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hampshire, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Quote:
ORIGINAL: w4sm
Web site says ''late July''

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...rodId=SPM18000
Not that I could see.

.co.uk Web site still says arriving February.

DominicM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 12:02 PM
  #288
LittleBob
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Braintree, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DominicM

Quote:
ORIGINAL: w4sm
Web site says ''late July''

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...rodId=SPM18000
Not that I could see.

.co.uk Web site still says arriving February.

The mark of a joined up company. Bring back Helgar Racing I say
LittleBob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 12:39 PM
  #289
w4sm
 
w4sm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Louisa, VA
Posts: 131
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DominicM

Quote:
ORIGINAL: w4sm
Web site says ''late July''

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...rodId=SPM18000
Not that I could see.

.co.uk Web site still says arriving February.

Look again.
On the right of the page, it says "Find a Retailer Near You:" Under that is a line where you enter your zip code, and under that says "Due late July 2012"
w4sm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 08:37 PM
  #290
Ramz
 
Ramz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Petitcodiac, NB, CANADA
Posts: 264
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

I really want to see a downloadable version of the manual on Horizon's site. That would really give some good indications of what it is capable of and would make for a good read.
Ramz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 08:48 PM
  #291
CPS
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CHANGHUATAIWAN, TAIWAN
Posts: 164
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

How large is the receiver? Dose it have telemetry?
CPS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:27 PM
  #292
Doug Cronkhite
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,569
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ron Stahl
I am ordering a DX18 and if they are late that will be the third strike since they have yet to ship any DX10's or F-4 EDF's to customers with excuses each month as to why they are late. I can't believe that whoever blew it on these two products still has a job their after all of the missed delivery dates as of late.
The F-4 is late Ron because David Payne found manufacturing defects in the initial container and didn't want to send bad airframes out to customers. I think a delay in this case is BEST for the consumer. Can't comment on the DX-10 cause I haven't a clue there.
Doug Cronkhite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:06 PM
  #293
Seraphim77
 
Seraphim77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 234
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

On the link is says "Due Late July, 2012".
Seraphim77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 05:39 AM
  #294
Ron Stahl
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: reisterstown, MD
Posts: 1,836
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Doug Cronkhite


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ron Stahl
I am ordering a DX18 and if they are late that will be the third strike since they have yet to ship any DX10's or F-4 EDF's to customers with excuses each month as to why they are late. I can't believe that whoever blew it on these two products still has a job their after all of the missed delivery dates as of late.
The F-4 is late Ron because David Payne found manufacturing defects in the initial container and didn't want to send bad airframes out to customers. I think a delay in this case is BEST for the consumer. Can't comment on the DX-10 cause I haven't a clue there.
.
Doug, Yes waiting for a product to be correct is best for the customer in the end. What is interesting is that HH does not communicate that to the dealers they just change the scheduled delivery date almost every month with no explanations. I have waited for products many times in the past 40 years of being a modeler but never over a year for radio that I have held in my hands at three different trade shows. Last Saturday at the WRAM Show the young man in the HH booth was very nice but had no really believable answers as to why the DX10's were still not being shipped and had a DX10tx sitting in the display next to the DX18 tx. Neither looked to be prototypes. What I believe is they are under the gun to not over produce the DX 10 knowing that many people wanted it's capabilities but in a traditional layout for a tx, hence the delay and now the DX18 now; that's ok just tell us customers that. First rule of retail used to be "never show a customer a product they can't buy". Horizon is not alone in this thinking Lionel trains puts out 2-3 catalogs a year for the customers to see what they are thinking of producing and if they do not get enough preorders they do not make that product, the difference is the dealers know that and tell the customers up front and with update emails canceling items so that
customers are not waiting for Christmas to come and no train under the tree like my customers did with the F-4s that were supposed to in by the end of September then October and now April.
Ron Stahl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 05:56 AM
  #295
sgrady
 
sgrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Saint John, IN
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

I would think the China manufacturing process has quite a bit of the issue of delays
sgrady is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 06:23 AM
  #296
Duncan
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Coventry, Warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Count yourself lucky that your not a Multiplex user Ron, you might of had an 18 month wait in the past for some of their product releases lol
Duncan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:23 AM
  #297
John Redman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lancaster, CA IL
Posts: 2,310
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Hey guys, just a quick note on one of the DX18's main features, the gear door sequencer. I have been playing with it hard for the past couple of days and am finding it to be pretty cool. Timing, sequencing, etc is infinitely adjustable to a point. I will be highlighting it in the Hangar 9 P-47 build thread I am doing in the warbirds section for work. It will be highlighted in one of the main build videos as well as they are brought to life.

Just thought you might like to know for those interested.

Build thread on RCU
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_10906674/tm.htm

Build videos on HH.com
http://www.horizonhobby.com/article/...underbolt-30cc
John Redman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 04:52 AM
  #298
ww2birds
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,235
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

John,

Here's the killer feature someone should do: since the new radios are going to have telemetry, arrange for some way that the telemetry results can be used in the programs in the TX, for example mixing or acting as a "virtual switch".

I think you will find that using the TX to program the gear is cute, but there is no way to do a gear failsafe function, since mutiple servos control doors, gear, etc.

But a simple pressure sensor (RCATS telemetry and others already have it for the aftermarket, so the sensors exist and are cheap), converted to voltage and sent down to the TX, then having the TX process the value in a PMIX or something, and you can integrate not only air pressure monitor via telemetry but also implement a failsafe (like the Tamjets unit) via the TX program.

Dave
ww2birds is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:05 AM
  #299
jetster81
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: london, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Duncan

Count yourself lucky that your not a Multiplex user Ron, you might of had an 18 month wait in the past for some of their product releases lol
So you a Multiplex user then? if not why the dig? it has nothing to do with this thread.

by the way, Multiplex works.

jetster81 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:40 AM
  #300
djstar39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

John,

How is the DX18 set up to handle multiple engines (2 or 4)? Also, is the throttle trim electronic or analog?

Thanks!

djstar
djstar39 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:25 PM.