Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 16 of 24 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast
Results 376 to 400 of 599

  1. #376
    sgrady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Saint John, IN
    Posts
    55
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Mine is in, have to go pick it up

  2. #377

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Santa Monica
    Posts
    1,291
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18


    ORIGINAL: madmodelman

    There will always be a duff one Andy with anything mass produced.
    I must have had well over 1000 flights over the last three years with a DSX9 using mainly Spektrum recievers with not so much as a glitch.
    I will admit to having a couple of rx's which would not rebind and Horizon replaced them with new but never had an in flight failure.
    Gary.
    Agreed. I have hundreds of flights on my trusty DX7 and never once had a glitch if any kind. Trust Spektrum completely. I'm sure I'll be picking up a DX18 for my Electra

    S

  3. #378

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chico, CA,
    Posts
    113
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Does anybody know the difference between this and the 12x..Other than the obvious number of channels..End point adjustments, finer input to servo movements, etc ?

    Thanks

  4. #379
    Xairflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Co. Donegal, IRELAND
    Posts
    2,708
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Radios always get the blame, some of the installations I have seen are a crash waiting to happen
    www.letterkennymodelflyingclub.com
    www.jmaireland.com

  5. #380
    Tom Antlfinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Fond du Lac, WI
    Posts
    2,200
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Being a rep means nothing to me as far as my installs. I have seen marginal installs i.e. multiple servo wire splices with bad looking plugs, a single 22 ga wire from a 6000 ma LiPo to an old switch in a heavy scale jet, etc.

    Mine is going into my aging test bed, a near five year old BXL with now my 10 y/o P-120.

    Like Gary noted, always can have a duff off the assembly line. I like to burn in my new stuff on my bench for 24 hrs or about 25 flights in the old Boomer. I picked up a glitchy 1221 last year right out of the box, and several bad new servos in the past.

    My only near misses the last 12 years with 10X-12X and Futaba 12FGA and some Speky RX's have been bad power, i.e. batteries, switches, and crappy servo wires. I now do all my own or have Andy Low make them up custom. Zero crashes from radio failure.....

    Tom

  6. #381

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    spring, TX
    Posts
    411
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18


    ORIGINAL: Tom Antlfinger

    Being a rep means nothing to me as far as my installs. I have seen several crap installs, multiple servo wire splices with bad looking plugs, 22 ga wire from a 6000 ma LiPo to an old switch in a heavy scale jet, etc.

    Mine is going into my aging test bed, a near five year old BXL with now my 10 y/o P-120.

    Like Gary noted, always can have a duff off the assembly line. I like to burn in my new stuff on my bench for 24 hrs or about 25 flights in the old Boomer. I picked up a glitchy 1221 last year right out of the box, and several bad new servos in the past.

    My only near misses the last 12 years with 10X-12X and Futaba 12FGA and some Speky RX's have been bad power, i.e. batteries, switches, and crappy servo wires. I now do all my own or have Andy Lo make them up custom. Zero crashes from radio failure.....

    Tom
    Excellent points and very well said.
    Kirk Jensen

    BVM Field Representative, JetcatUSA Representative, Team JR

  7. #382

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Guelph, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    207
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18


    ORIGINAL: Xairflyer

    Radios always get the blame, some of the installations I have seen are a crash waiting to happen
    I have to Agree!, I've been flying RC for over 20 Years and have never had a lockout or accident contributed to radio failure, and trust me. I've used nearly all brands of transmitters and recievers. Don't blame the brand I say!


  8. #383
    Mr_Grump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Meridianville, AL
    Posts
    306
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Hi All

    I just picked up my DX-18 from my local hobby shop. The shop and I were both surprised when it showed up. While I'm still digging through menus and features, overall it's impressive. It really has a good feel to it.

    Since my current model project needs about 10 channels, I'm a little dissapointed that I have to spend almost another $100 to take advantage of the needed channels. I may be able to do without one and use the included 9 channel receiver but having all this technology, in my opinion, I shouldn't have to. I don't yet understand why you'd make a 10 channel radio and not have a 10 channel receiver. Not even a JR version.

    I have a DX-8 which is a great radio. I sold my 12Z Futaba because I hated the manual and effort required to setup something new. It to is a great radio if you want to spend a lot of time learning to use it. I swithed to Spekturm because I liked the software and manual.

    The DX-18 will be another great Spektrum radio but as of now, I'm undecided if I'll keep it or just order a 12 channel JR.

    Mr G
    Mr G

  9. #384
    gooseF22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,098
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    I have the DX18 now.. its a super radio.. Its fully configurable, much more than the 12X.. but the biggest advantage I can see is the dual polarization.. I am seeing significantly better reception overall.. I have had it for a few days now..

    Example: I flew my Habu (AR7000 with data) a few flights with 12X, which was just back home from full system check/transmitter board replacement, antenna replacement, and DSMX upgrade.. Of course the 12X performed flawlessly, and typical numbers for a 5 min flight are almost always 15-20 for A and 30 - 50 for B.. I fly it high and far out. Im seeing a definite improvement on DSM2 there.. the first flight was 0 and 6. second flight 2 and 8.. and so on.. so about 50 to 75% improvement in fades..

    To me, that is the sole reason to upgrade, along with all the programming additions.. Although we are using version1.00 of the software, I do believe HH will upgrade the software as people come up with an easier way to do things... example: the gear interface needs a little work.. a couple of shortcuts for setting up Wheels with nothing else as the default instead of gear doors.. Another will be Crow.. The sailplane programming is very robust, but Crow in the airplane mode will require a tweak to the software I think..

    Being able to configure any button to any function is cool.. If you use a 12 channel receiver, you have full functionality/speed on the X+ channels up to 12..

    I recommend each person figure out their own channel assignment methods and kinda use it over and over.. for instance, I have elected to put the landing gear on channel 10 on my jets.. that puts 9 primary channels on the flight controls.. this way I can use a 9 channel receiver with Xplus, and channelize the first 9 channels for surfaces.. It takes some getting used to thinking outside the box. The monitor menu shows first 10 channels, then the Xplus menue shows the remainder, so I put stuff on that page that is set once and forget type things like Gear, gyro, smoke... like the manual says to do..

    Gyro programming takes some thought as well.. It can be configured to do about anything, but it takes some thought.. It can be triggered with buttons, curves, mixes.. whatever..

    It has a ton of mixes, so you can configure it any way you want.. It self mixes dual surfaces like dual elevator, rudders, ailerons, flaps.. then you can assign them to any channel.. I like that alot.. The servo monitor page for first 10 channels is visible on almost every programming page, so you can see the mixes happening real time instead of taking the risk live. It also has absolute travel mode, which limits a servo in the event of an overtravel due to a mix or something.. its off by default but can be activated..

    It has the standard 5 flight modes, but you can mix and match common or individual trims in each mode..example: I have individual pitch and roll trim per flight mode but common rudder trim.. this way its easy to trim out any pitch and roll changes with the flaps in mid or down (fm 2/3) separately from go fast flight mode 1.

    The Model selection is via a quick menu, so you dont have to cycle power anymore.. thats nice.. the gymbals are outstanding.. the BUTTON from the 10X days is BACK !!.. the clutter is less, and the Lipo system legacy from the DX8 is great..

    Its a good design for 2/3 the cost of a 12X.. I will be giving my feedback to HH soon.. we already discussed the Gear Programming improvement. Its also nice, like the DX8, to be able to squirt new updates via the card..

    Again, the reception improvement with the dual diversity Vertical and horizontal polarized signals is a HUGE improvement in complex airplanes with alot of stuff in them.

    I will report out on DSMX as soon as I get it going.. just got a few X receivers.

    In the end, I will probably be selling the 12X because I have the 18 and 8 now.. they are so similar its easy to swap back and forth. So now its a function of learning the menus..

    my quick look 2c..goose

    Goose
    Wren Turbines USA, Fromeco Avionics, JetiUSA Flight Team, www.Espritmodel.com www.demonaero.com

  10. #385
    madmodelman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    2,000
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Hey Goose,
    Many thanks for the update, having to wait for mine in the Uk so it's nice to hear what it's like, can't wait!
    Gary.
    Stuka, P51, Super Chipmunk, Super Stearman R170, BE2e, Javelin, F16, L39, F86, Viperjet and at long last an F4!!

  11. #386
    Mr_Grump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Meridianville, AL
    Posts
    306
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Lots of good info. Thanks Goose

    Mr G
    Mr G

  12. #387
    Gordon W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    BrauntonDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    558
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Thanks for posting your overview Goose. It explains a lot and I've saved it as a word file so that I can easily find and refer to it when I get my DX-18.

    Best regards

    Gordon

  13. #388
    w4sm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Louisa, VA
    Posts
    130
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Atlanta Hobby is now showing the DX-18 as in stock and shipping.
    Stacey E. (Chuck) Mills
    Charlottesville, VA.

  14. #389
    Tom Antlfinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Fond du Lac, WI
    Posts
    2,200
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    First impression I am impressed...ergonomics fit my hand with the rubber grips on the case and scroll wheel...the neck strap is well balanced.....signicantly lighter than the 12X, similar to a 12FGA.....really like the new solid dual diversiy antenna....fits in my old 10X case with a little foam trimming.....as Goose noted, a few software quirks need tweaking, but overall very easy to program...

    I like it......

  15. #390
    snobird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Auburn, ME
    Posts
    369
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    My DX18 will not bind to my Spektrum Cockpit SRS anyone have any info about this issue. already sent E's to HH and Powerbox

  16. #391
    madmodelman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    2,000
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Not teaching you to suck eggs but have you programmed the powerbox to DSMX?
    Gary.
    Stuka, P51, Super Chipmunk, Super Stearman R170, BE2e, Javelin, F16, L39, F86, Viperjet and at long last an F4!!

  17. #392
    snobird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Auburn, ME
    Posts
    369
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Yes. had my 12x in the plane before

  18. #393
    gooseF22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,098
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18


    ORIGINAL: snobird

    My DX18 will not bind to my Spektrum Cockpit SRS anyone have any info about this issue. already sent E's to HH and Powerbox
    move the transmitter about 10 - 20 feet away and try again.. if that wont work, unplug the satellites and put them in different ports... I encountered that the other day.. its some signal harmonic/diversity/swamping issue.. I have seen it in previous models, but since the antenna is dual polarized, it can become more common..

    I saw this on my 12120X+ the other day...
    Goose
    Wren Turbines USA, Fromeco Avionics, JetiUSA Flight Team, www.Espritmodel.com www.demonaero.com

  19. #394
    gooseF22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,098
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Guys.. a product bulletin for binding the telemetry with the power save receivers.. fyi.. why post it here.. cause Telem is really nicely embedded in this radio.. Im putting it in all my jets.. with no add ons, it monitors the fades/holds, and the rx power. I plan to add to it as we go.. hoping the jetcat telem box will work with projet, and planning on using the airspeed/alt function later.. basically you gotta add power to the bus separately during binding.

    Binding Telemetry with Power-Safe Receivers
    Spektrum Power Safe receivers like the AR9100/ AR9110, AR12100/ AR12110
    and the AR7100/ AR7110 require a special binding procedure when using
    telemetry modules.
    Step #1- Insert a bind plug in the bind port in the receiver.

    Step #2- Insert the telemetry modules’ Data port lead into any un-used channel
    in the receiver. (Note: If all channels are being used remove any servo lead from
    the receiver to allow an open servo port to be accessed).

    Step #3- Power the receiver through the EC3 connector. Note that all the
    receivers (internal and remote) should be flashing indicating they are in bind
    mode.

    Step #4- Using a second battery, insert the battery plug into any un-used
    channel in the receiver while pressing and holding the bind button on the side of
    the telemetry module. This will place the telemetry module in bind mode.

    Step #5- Make sure that the LED’s are flashing on all receivers and on the
    telemetry module. Place the all channels (sticks and switches) on the transmitter
    in the desired failsafe position. Now bind the transmitter to the system.

    Step #6- Remove the second battery from the receiver, remove the bind plug
    and move the telemetry module connector to the bind port to allow flight log data
    to be displayed.
    Note: Do not leave the secondary battery plugged in for more than a few minutes
    as damage to the battery can occur.
    Goose
    Wren Turbines USA, Fromeco Avionics, JetiUSA Flight Team, www.Espritmodel.com www.demonaero.com

  20. #395
    snobird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Auburn, ME
    Posts
    369
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Thanks . move away as you said and it did bind. but i lost all my settings. thanks for the help

  21. #396
    gooseF22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,098
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Pb internal settings lost? I would guess that it resets because of the negotiations.

    Another quirk is how it steals the gear channel when complex plane setups are loaded. I will report that to hh. Forces u into the sequencer.

    A cool point about gyro is curves. You can increase sensitivity around center and decrease it towards the ends. Example: gyro rudder to gyro sens on gyro page. Kinda like a mix. As stick deflection increases you can decr sensitivity in a 5point. I'm playing w a jr500 on it. So far using about 15%in middle and 5 on outside mid stick.

    Warnings can only be programmed on primary 10 chans.

    Need to upgrade firmware to remove banner in poweR off screen. When the new software is on the sim card it will update at power on.

    Mixes can be a combination of switches or a mix from a switch to a function. Ex:button I to aux 3. Ala. button brakes like the 10x. Took one min to get it right. Turned on by gear down and/or throttle in pos0(idle). Stuff like that.

    Play w the throttle trigger points in the analog as well as elevator trigger. If u are a down elevator braking you can trigger full braking with a slight down move versus proportional.

    So far dsmx reception has been excellent on my habu and Trojan. (testing for confidence).

    More as I learn it
    Goose
    Wren Turbines USA, Fromeco Avionics, JetiUSA Flight Team, www.Espritmodel.com www.demonaero.com

  22. #397

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Caracas, VENEZUELA
    Posts
    444
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18


    ORIGINAL: gooseF22

    Pb internal settings lost? I would guess that it resets because of the negotiations.
    Goose, great review. Thanks.

    The Spektrum Cockpit resets every time you change modulation (DSM2 / DSMX)


    Jack
    TEAM HORIZON

  23. #398

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    , , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    346
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    Looks like those who have it are generally impressed

  24. #399
    Mr_Grump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Meridianville, AL
    Posts
    306
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    FYI....

    The transmitter NAG screen will return in V1 of the software. I was working in the Travel menu. I was having a problem figuring out how to select the upper and lower left flap travel. It suddenly flipped to the top level screen. After that, I had the NAG screen.

    Had to reinstall the V1 software to fix it. Unfortunately, I was unable to duplicate it.

    Mr G
    Mr G

  25. #400
    Gordon W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    BrauntonDevon, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    558
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX18

    ORIGINAL: gooseF22

    Another quirk is how it steals the gear channel when complex plane setups are loaded. I will report that to hh. Forces u into the sequencer.
    Isn't it likely that the gear channel is stolen to reduce latency between channels required to operate accurately together, such as dual aileron or dual elevator, or maybe twin servos on rudder?

    In a similar manner the JR 10X steals the gear channel for quad flap mix. After I'd worked out how to re-assign the gear switch to channel 9 or 10 on the 10X, depending on the no of channels in the Rx, I subsequently always used chan 9 or 10 for gear on all my retract-equipped models. The reason for this on the 10X is that chans 9 and 10 are only updated at 1/2 frame rate, and with gear being only a 2-position switched channel, it doesn't need full frame rate. On the RCgroups thread, if I remember correctly, Andy Kunz of Horizon said that the DX18 updates chans 13 to 18 at 1/2 frame rate. So these channels should not be used for primary controls, and re-assigning the gear channel to one of these would be a sound solution if you're using the X-plus 8 channel expander.

    Or am I on the wrong track altogether wrt the reason for the DX18 automatic gear channel re-allocation? (I won't have a DX18 for at least a couple of months)

    Gordon


Page 16 of 24 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.